Tohill again in Ireland. First Spanish Championship launched.

by Rallycross World |

3 March / The British Rallycross Championship adds dates at the Glossocircuit in Belgium and Dreux in France to complete its 2022 schedule. The series includes ten different championship classes and will run 12 events over seven weekends; not all classes appear at all events. The Supernational, Retro, Mini, All4 Mini and RX150 classes will visit the rejuvenated Glossocircuit at Arendonk while Supercar will join the French championship in its season finale at Dreux.

Rallycross World | Dreux

4 March / The rallycross track at Pembrey in south Wales will be further revised before the British Championship makes its first of two visits this year in May. The circuit will continue to be used in clockwise and anti-clockwise configurations. The chicane in the gravel section of the circuit is being removed and a new joker lap section for the anti-clockwise version will be added; meaning that each direction will have its own unique joker lap. “On second half of the gravel section there was a lot of course-cutting and contact, so we’ve made the changes to make it flow a lot better. We’re making a much more open corner on the gravel, back onto the tarmac … the changes lend themselves to moving the joker for the anti-clockwise layout. The existing joker works well for the clockwise direction as it is, so it’s a good change in variety of the circuit layouts for the drivers too,” said Pembrey circuit manager Phil Davies.

Rallycross World | Pembrey

6 March / The second round of the Irish Rallycross Championship is run at Mondello Park where Derek Tohill (Fiesta) again dominates the event. Fastest in all three heats, Tohill wins the Supercar final and the Superfinal. Paul Nolan (Mitsubishi Mirage) is Tohill’s closest rival in the heats but places third in the Supercar final where Declan Kelly (Fiesta) finishes second. Andrew and Michael Morris are fourth and fifth in their Subaru Imprezas but Thomas O’Rafferty (Fiesta) is a non-finisher. At the end of the day Kelly again leads the chase of Tohill in the Superfinal where Modified (Supernational) winner Peter McGarry completes a good day in third place. Andrew Morris is fourth ahead of Nolan, Corne brothers Willie and Michael and Barry McArdle, the latter three all progressing from the Modified final. Conor Shaw (Casmat) beats Gareth Greer’s similar vehicle to win the Buggy final andJoshua Power leads home Toby McGuire to take the Junior win. Jason McConnon (Mini Cooper) is the winner of the Open Clubman final, Shane Mulligan (Peugeot 206) wins the Rally Car class and Ian Barrett (Speedcar) is best of the autocross runners whose results are based on FTD after five runs. IRX now takes a break until June.

Rallycross World | Paul Nolan, Mitsubishi Mirage, IRX, Mondello Park

9 March / The first official national championship for rallycross in Spain is launched by the Royal Spanish Automobile Federation. The Copa de España de Rallycross (CERX) will run over five events from June to November. The announcement of the series does not specify venues and say that technical rules will offer classes for two- and four-wheel drive cars as well as for CrossCar. Each event will be run over two days, with three heats, semi-finals and finals. Events will be open to the public and televised. The new series will add details in the coming weeks.

More Spanish rallycross here

Rallycross World | CERX, Spanish Rallycross
« »