Godfrey makes it five as Raymond wins in France

by Hal Ridge |

Former European Championship event winner Kevin Procter won the final round of the MSA British Rallycross Championship at Croft, but the Ford Fiesta Supercar driver had to share the headlines with Julian Godfrey (Ford Fiesta), who on Saturday wrapped up his fifth consecutive British Championship title. Having finished fourth in Saturday’s final, Godfery dominated on Sunday in the MSA British Rallycross Grand Prix. Qualifying on pole position for the Grand Prix final, Godfrey led the race from lights to flag.

Kevin Procter won in British Championship at home event. ©RallycrossWorld.com/Hal Ridge

Andy Scott (Peugeot 208) twice finished second over the two days, while Andy Grant (Ford Focus) was third on Saturday and Ollie O’Donovan (Ford Focus) made it to the podium on Sunday after a torrid day one, technical troubles hampering his car. Pat Doran (Citroen DS3) and Steve Harris (Citroen DS3) both failed to make it past practice on Saturday but the pair raced on Sunday and both made it to the final.

Andy Grant scored podium at Croft. ©RallycrossWorld.com/Hal Ridge

Paige Bellerby (Lotus Exige) won her first SuperNational final at the last round of the British series, ahead of Gareth Wood (Ford KA) and Dan Rooke (Citroen AX), who sealed the category title at his first attempt, before finishing as top two-wheel drive runner in Sunday’s Grand Prix in sixth. Tristan Ovenden (Suzuki Swift) won the Swift Sport category and the championship, while Bradley Durdin (Suzuki Swift) passed title rival Drew Bellerby (Suzuki Swift) in the Junior category to claim the crown. Kris Hudson (BMW Mini) won in BMW Minis, while Tomasz Wielgosz (Peugeot 106) claimed the Hot Hatch championship title. Chrissy Palmer beat Marc Scott in the RX150 category and ended Scott’s run of consecutive championship crowns.

Rooke headed Wood in British SuperNational championship. ©RallycrossWorld.com/Hal Ridge

Running as support category to the Grand Prix, World RX star Andreas Bakkerud won the RX150 final on Sunday ahead of Dave Bellerby and Ryan Champion, while Andy Scott raced Marc’s buggy and finished fourth. Ray Morgan (Ford Escort) won the Retro Rallycross Challenge and secured the John Button Memorial Trophy, while Jack Leese won the Junior Swift category in his debut weekend.

Palmer beat Scott to RX150 crown. ©RallycrossWorld.com/Hal Ridge

Former Super1600 champion Cyril Raymond won the final round of the French Rallycross Championship at Dreux, his second Supercar victory of the season in selected outings, having also scored a brace of RX Lites podiums in Canada and Spain. Fabien Chanoine (Renault Clio) finished second with already confirmed champion, Gaetan Serazin completing the podium. In Super1600, Maximilien Eveno (Citroen C2) won to confirm second in the championship, while Jimmy Terpereau (Citroen C2) finished second and 2015 champion Laurent Chartrain (Citroen C2) completed the podium. In Division Three it was a familiar story, champion Christophe Saunois (Toyota Corolla) won ahead of Mathieu Trevian (Volkswagen Scirocco) and Marc Morize (Peugeot 208) while in Division Four, Stephane Hameau (Peugeot 306) was victorious with Emmanuel Anne (Renault Clio) second and champion Steven Lefrancois (Peugeot 206) third. In the Twingo R1 Cup, 2015 champion Tom Daunat won again. Jean-Mickael Guerin finished second.

Christophe Saunois won again in Division Three. ©RallycrossWorld.com/Rallycross France

The Argentinian Rallycross Championship (CARX) held it’s third round of the season at the circuit of Cabalen near Cordoba. Miguel Baldoni (Peugeot 208) won the Maxi Rally category following a final battle with Nicolas Madero (Ford Fiesta), the latter having to retire with a blown engine on lap four. As a result, Baldoni has taken the championship lead. Augusto D’Agostini (VW Golf) finished second with Marcelo Bugliotti (Citroen DS3) third. Julio Gomez (Mitsubishi Evo) was dominant in the N4 division and became the third different winner in as many events.


Russian driver Roman Stepanenko (Citroen C4) won the final round of the Rallycross Challenge Europe at Maggiora in Italy and claimed the series crown, he finished ahead of World Championship driver Rene Munnich (Audi S3) and Jos Jansen (Ford Focus) who had earlier rolled his car. Jansen finished second in the championship ahead of Austrian Max Pucher, who was classified eighth at Maggiora. Egor Sanin (Renault Clio) won in Super1600 to win the championship, ahead of Artis Baumanis (Renault Twingo) and Mandie August (Skoda Fabia). Timur Shigabutdinov (Skoda Fabia) finished fourth. Roman Castoral (Opel Astra) once again won in SuperTouringCars-, Belgian driver Dave Van Beers (Renault Clio) finished second, while Steve Volders (Ford Escort) won SuperTouringCars + ahead of Davy Leysen (BMW E36).

BBC F1 aired the feature filmed earlier this year with Jenson Button and David Coulthard driving a Retro Rallycross Volkswagen Beetle and modern World RX Supercars at Lydden Hill, in the build up to the Russian Grand Prix. The video can be watched on the BBC website, here




« »