On his way

by Tim Whittington |

Fastest in the second heat, Sverre Isachsen has written his name on pole position for this afternoon’s A final and appears to be on his way to a third consecutive title. Stig-Olov Walfridsson and Davy Jeanney made a bit of a race of it; Walfridsson shadowing Isachsen on the track for the first lap while Jeanney raced the clock after an early Joker Lap and eventually placed second, but 1.2s down on the winner. Toomas Heikkinen emerged from the heat with third fastest time ahead of Walfridsson and Frode Holte.

While Krzysztof Skorupski cruised to another fastest time among the Super1600s, Ulrik Linnemann found himself under investigation following a first corner incident in which Andreas Bakkerud’s Clio rode up over the back of Stanislav Šusta’s Škoda Fabia. The suspicion of the officials is that Linnemann may have pushed Bakkerud’s car. Linnemann set second fastest time, ahead of Jussi-Petteri Leppihalme, Clemens Meyer and Šusta. Daniel Holten and Pavel Vimmer were both black flagged following a tussle for the lead of their race while Robert Sobecki and Kamil Sokołowski both parked their Škodas.

Only the TouringCar pole remains to be decided, Roman Častoral turning the tables on Lars Øivind Enerberg to be fastest in the second heat where Derek Tohill put himself back in contention with a clean run to third.

Ulrik Linnemann has been excluded from the second heat after the stewards investigated the incident in the first corner of race three.




This slideshow requires JavaScript.



« »