Dutch championship, Valkenswaard

by Henk de Winter |

Kuijpers wins one men’s race, drama for Scheveneels.

Belgian racing driver and the D2 (Group N) 2001 European Rallycross Champion  Ronny Scheveneels was looking for months ahead to the upcoming races for the European Rallycross Championship on his homeground (Maasmechelen, Belgium) and the Eurocircuit in Holland. Scheveneels, presented his beautyful Supercar VW Scirocco at the ERC event in Belgium in 2010. Last week, after hours on the test-bench, the car showed up for his race during a race for the Belgian Championship. Not more then one lap did Scheveneels with the Scirocco during that day. The team was forced to let the car into the paddock with technical problems after the free practice session. In preparation for the ERC events Scheveneels was present at the fourth and last round for the Dutch championship on Dutch territory. The VW Scirocco run well during practice. In the first heat Scheveneels lost control of the car and hit hard with the front right wheel the barrier of the Joker Lap section. After the racing incident the unfortunate driver was brought to hospital for observation. After one night in the hospital in the nearby town of Veldhoven, Scheveneels was send home by the medical staff on monday afternoon with several bruised ribs on his right side. “Besides the fact that Ronny has a lot of pain of the bruised ribs, there are no more injures”, says his wife Ilse while driving Ronny home. “All other things are paddock rumours”.

Jos Kuijpers (Ford Fiesta) and  Patrick Van Mechelen (Subaru Impreza) are battling it out for the Dutch title in the next two races. Van Mechelen left the track in the A-final with a ‘strange noise’ under the car he said. With the absence of several Dutch and Belgian Supercar competitors and with the absence of Scheveneels, that left Jos Kuijpers for two laps alone on the track.

In the Super1600 winner of the race, Marcel Snoeijers thought he had the championship title in his pocket. After new calculations done by the team after the A-final. The conclusion was. There is still  a‘small’, but how small is small in autosport’, that Peter van de Wege (Toyota Yaris) can take the title. Snoeijers, who scored his third win in a row on the Eurocircuit, has the lead in the championship with 86 points. Belgian Davy Van Den Branden has now 75 points. If he wins one of the upcoming races in Belgium, reduced with the drop-score Van Den Branden highest points score will be also 86. With more wins after his name the Dutch title is for Snoeijers. Van de Wege, currently third in the championship standings, is the only one has the opportunity to bring in two Belgian results. If he wins both and Snoeijers scores no position higher then sixth place. Van de Wege can end up with 89 points and grab the Dutch Super1600 title. Snoeijers had the lead in the race with Van de Wege on his tail. In the last lap Van de Wege took the Joker Lap. “I went into my Joker Lap much,  much too fast. I lost my second place to Davy Van Den Branden”, Van de Wege said. Van Den Branden second and Van de Wege third.

The TouringCars where mixed up with the Supercars 2wd. Best ‘man’ in the TouringCars was Mandy Kasse in the Opel Astra, before Chris Moelands BMW 120. Mandy Kasse has reinforced here lead in the TouringCar BelNed championship. Luc Maris (Volvo S40) was (again) for the third time in a row the fastest man on the track in the Supercar  2wd class. Kristof Bex (Volvo S40) took second place and Steve Volders (Ford Escort) third. The championship fight in the Supercars 2wd is going to be a family affair between father Luc and son Steven Maris.


  • Supercar – Final Results:
  • 1. Jos Kuijpers (I) Ford Fiesta VII
  • 2. Patrick Van Mechelen (B) Subaru Impreza
  • Super1600 – Final Results:
  • 1. Marcel Snoeijers (NL) Renault Clio II
  • 2. Davy Van Den Branden (B) Citroën C2
  • 3. Peter van de Wege (NL) Toyota Yaris I
  • 4. Pedro Cokelaere (B) Honda Civic EK4
  • 5. Leo van der Eijk (NL) BMW Mini Cooper
  • 6. Willem Veltman (NL) Citroën C2
  • SuperNational – Final Results:
  • 1. Luc Maris (B) Volvo S40 II
  • 2. Kristof Bex (B) Volvo S40 I
  • 3. Steve Volders (B), Ford Escort III
  • 4. Johan Kwinten (NL) BMW E30
  • 5. Filip Baelus (B) Volvo C30
  • 6. Marc Vandenbergh (B) Seat Ibiza II


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

« »