Larsson retains Nitrocross crown. Pauwels wins Belgian opener

Seven days in rallycross 7 March

by Rallycross World |

1 March / The final events of the 2023-2024 Nitrocross season took place at Las Vegas where Robin Larsson emerged as the series winner. Larsson had a strong run in the Friday event in which he placed second to Fraser McConnell. Timmy Hansen placed third, the trio locking out the podium for DRR JC. Larsson then won the Saturday event, Hansen placing second ahead of Guillaume De Ridder. Erstwhile series leader Kevin Eriksson had a difficult run placing seventh and 10th in the two events. Casper Jansson won the Next events on each day, Lane Vacala and Elias Svensson second and third on Friday then swapping places to again complete the podium on Saturday.

2 March / The opening round of the Belgian Rallycross Championship is run at Mettet where Cross Car and its baby brother “Mini-Buggy” clearly accounts for the majority of the entry. Kobe Pauwels (Mygale XC04) charges to the win. Pauwels was fastest of the 22 starters in all three heats, then won Semi-Final four (four semi-finals!) before winning again in the A final. Romauld Demelene (LifeLive TN11) and Tim Braumuller (Mygale XC04) win SF3 and SF2 before going on to finish second and third in the A final. Germain Dewez (Semog Bravo Sport) wins the KartCross Open class, Thymeo Dor the only starter and winner in Cross Car Junior. Mini-Buggy boasts a 22-car field in which Dan Spies (Spies) is fastest in heats two and three before winning SF3 and the final. Julien Reints (JVDC) and Ferre Selleslagh (SRT) finished second and third in the final. Kristof Bex (Volvo S40) won the Supernational+ final, the class drawing just six starters while Steve Volders (Volvo C30) was best of the five Supernational– runners and Yenthe Putzeys (Opel Corsa) won in RX3.

Rallycross World | Belgian RX, BRX, RX3, Super1600, Mettet
Rallycross World | Belgian RX, BRX, Mini-Buggy, Mettet

2 March / Irish Rallycross returned to Mondello Park for rounds three and four of the 2024 season. Derek Tohill survived a heat three clash with Michael Leonard to win both the Supercar final and the Superfinal on Saturday. Tohill stopped in heat one on Sunday after contact with John McCluskey. Returning to be fastest in H2 and H3. McCluskey and Tohill tussled again in the Supercar final, McCluskey penalised for the move that helped Leonard to get away for the win. Leonard ran wide in the first corner of the Superfinal, Tohill taking the lead and going on to win the race ahead of Darragh Morris (Subarua Impreza). Elsewhere this was a weekend for double winners; Peter McGarry (still at the wheel of a borrowed Vauxhall VX220) blitzed the Modified (Supernational) field to win on each day while Nicole Drought won twice in the combined Open Clubman/Fiesta Zetec class which had just five starters. Jack Newman (Speedcar Wonder) was the double winner in the Buggy class and Cody Mahon twice led home the competitive Junior field. The Rally drivers shared the victories, Wayne Keogh (Subaru Impreza) won on Saturday before Thomas O’Rafferty (Opel Corsa) took the Sunday win.

Rallycross World | Michael Leonard Jnr. Derek Tohill, John McCluskey, IRX, Mondello Park
Rallycross World | Jack Newman, Buggy, Crosskart, IRX, Mondello Park

This weekend / No racing this weekend, so sit back and take a breather before things really get going. Organisers everywhere are busy, including in Hungary where Nyirad is getting some attention before World RX makes its first appearance in the country this summer.

pics: World RX, Red Bull media pool, BRX, IRX/Paddy McGrath,

« »