Veiby is Norwegian Champion as JK smashes RallyX Grenland

Seven days in rallycross 31 August

by Rallycross World |

27 August / John Kristoffersson blitzed his way through the RallyX event at Grenland in Norway. The World Champion was not beaten all weekend and won pretty much as he pleased. In the final JK led home KMS teammate OC Veiby with Oliver Eriksson third. Jens Hvaal placed fourth in the mixed Supercar class and won the final ahead of Stein Egil Jenssen and Hans Joran Ostreng when the ‘Am’ drivers were separated. Lukas Andersson was top qualifier in Supercar Lites and won SF1 before dropping to third in the final which was won by Martin Enlund who battled his way back from fifth place at the intermediate and third in SF1 to take the win. Capser Jansson won SF2 and placed second in the final. There were 33 starters in the Cross Car field. Elias Svensson was clearly best of the field, beaten only in H2 where he slipped to third place behind Thomas Eek Murstad (who doubled-up this weekend and made his Supercar debut where he placed 12th) and Riku Huuhka who was second fastest in heats one and two but then slipped down the order. Svensson smashed the semi and final in which he led home Murstad who had won SF2 and Sebastian Enholm who got to the final via a win in SF3. Cross Car Junior had 19 starters and also delivered a clear winner at Mikael Uitto went through the event unbeaten. he was joined on the podium by his usual Finnish compatriots Joonatan Ylilammi and Lauri Halonen. The 2WD event was reduced to four starters when Ole Henry Steinsholt non-started his Volvo 240, Simon Tiger had no real problem in taking another win.

Rallycross World | RallyX, Grenand, Johan Kristoffersson
Rallycross World | RallyX, Grenand, Jens Hvaal
Rallycross World | RallyX, Grenand, Jens Hvaal

The event also comprised the latest round of the Norwegian national series, NM Rallycross. The one-event Supercar title was up for grabs here and OC Veiby struck gold in this part of the competition, Sondre Evjen denied the title for the second year in a row while Jens Hvaal made a very impressive Supercar debut to place third.
Mats Marthinsen topped the Class One (Super1600) order, the local race leading home Carl Berg and Andrine Rafoss. Lasse Aaberg won Class Two (2000cc) after top qualifier Andreas Myhre went out with gearbox failure. Thomas Brryntesson dominated the Class Three (2400) class to put himself into a title contention with two events left to run while Simen Engsvik was best of the Class Four (+2400) runners. Johannes Rafoss took the Junior win on home turf while Arnfinn Bergseng won the Historic final after pole starter Amund Walle went off in the first lap of the final.

Rallycross World | NM rallycross, Grenland, Thomas Bryntesson, TBRX

29 August / Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky will tackle the last two events of the Porsche Carrera Cup Scandinavia together with JC Raceteknik, the former returning to the series for the first time since 20212, the latter engaging in its first circuit racing project. Ahlin-Kottulinsky is an accomplished circuit racer having won races in the Swedish Touring Car Championship, along with claiming wins in the Volkswagen Scirocco R Cup, and the Porsche Sprint Challenge Scandinavia. this year she placed third in the FIA RX2e championship with two podium finishes in the five-event series and is currently second in the Extreme E championship.

Rallycross World | Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky, JC Raceteknik, Porsche Carrera Cup Scandinavia

This weekend / Loheac! It’s the first weekend in September, so it must be Loheac. Sebastien Loeb and Andreas Bakkerud join the Rallycross France regulars while Kenneth Hansen is to drive in the Rallycross Legends section. RallyX moves to Holjes for its final round, the event also the final of the National Rallycross SM Rallycross. Elsewhere around europe the Austrian championship is at Fuglau where it will also host the visiting RX Italia, the Hungarian series goes to Kakucsring and Macao is the scene for the latest round of the Portuguese championship.

pics: World RX, Red Bull media pool, RallyX, JC Raceteknik, KMS, TBRX

« »