Oss takes LAT-LIT crown. Engsvik king of born-again Supernational.

Seven days in rallycross 15 September

by Rallycross World |

10 September / The scheduled Hungarian Championship event at Monorrierdo did not take place, many drivers instead heading to Nyirad for a practice day. The upcoming Hungarian and CEZ championship event at Nyirad has attracted an entry of 147 cars…

10 September / The Latvian-Lithuanian Championship reached its conclusion at Bikernieki in Riga where the final phase of racing was held under lights and with the addition of a temporary jump after turn two. Edijs Oss (Skoda Fabia) put his name to the title in style; going through the event unbeaten to add a maximum score to his total. Andri Oun placed second with Estonian visitors Arvo Kask and Maiko Tamm next up. Also completing the season with an unbeaten run, Maija Stakena (Ford Puma) maxed out as she took the Super2000 win ahead of Ivo Gabrans and Kristaps Kasparovics. Janno Ligur (Skoda Fabia) held off the challenge of Rytis Gurklys to come out on top in Super1600. Making a rare appearance to place fifth in the class, veteran racer Ugis Traubergs in a Lada Kalinna. The Xtreme Kartcross was keenly disputed between Ronalds Baldins, Martin Juga and Reinis Nitiss, the latter coming out on top in the final. The biggest class in the event was the BMW RX3000 with 22 starters. As usual the racing was close and Kaspars Fricsons worked hard for the win. Kristaps Martinovs was best of the 13-strong Lada category. The Yaris Cup for junior racers was won by Linards Jasons.

Rallycross World | Rallycross.lv, Latvian-Lithuanian Rallycross, Bikernieki, Edijs Oss
Rallycross World | Rallycross.lv, Latvian-Lithuanian Rallycross, Bikernieki, Ugis Traubegs
Rallycross World | Rallycross.lv, Latvian-Lithuanian Rallycross, Bikernieki, Super1600, Night race
Rallycross World | Rallycross.lv, Latvian-Lithuanian Rallycross, Bikernieki, Renis Nitiss

11 September / The final round of Norway’s NM Rallycross took place at Grenland where Emil Sivesind (Audi A1) took thje Class Four Supernational win at the end of a season that has seen a marked resurgence in the category – 22 cars starting at this event. Sivesind, Simen Engsvik (VW), Jonas Dalseth Jacobsen (VW Polo) and Fredrik Aagdal (BMW) each set a fastest time over the four heats, Sivesind the top qualifier and then racing away to win the final ahead of Engsvik and Jorgen Syversen. Engsvik had won the B final, beating Knut Ove Borseth who also progressed to the A final and place fifth ahead of Herbjorn Haug and Jacobsen. Secind place in the final was enough for Engsvik to become champion. Joakim Vestli (BMW M3) was beaten only once across the weekend in Class Three, Andreas Tveter Nilsen (Volvo) setting fastest time in Q4 and then completing the podium in third place. Hans Joran Ostreng (Hyundai) took second place. In Class Two the win was taken by Sigurd Erik Egeland (Mazda). Espen Isaksaetre (Peugeot 208) was again best of the Class One (Super1600) field, Mts W Marthinsen and Per Magne Svardal completing the top three. The Junior category had 17 starters with Jens Hvaal (Honda Civic) the best of the bunch while Bjorn Egil Dalen (VW Beetle) took the Historic final on a day when the Beetle kept pacesetter Arnfinn Bergseng’s Escort off the podium.

Rallycross World | NM Rallycross 2022 champions,

This weekend / Montalegre, that most amazing of rallycross tracks at which the weather can turn in a moment, is the scene for rounds four and five of the FIA World Rallycross Championship. The event also features FIA Euro RX for RX1 and RX3. Finland’s Rallicross SM goes to Honkajoki for its final round of the year and with the title up for grabs. Rallycross France heads to Mayenne as it too heads into the closing events of its season. The German Championship, DRX, has a double-header at Schluchtern.

pics: Rallycross LV, NBF,

« »