Kalliokoski in Oulu. Israelsson is SM champ. Karai at Greinbach. Chadwick tries RX.

Seven days in rallycross 24 August

by Rallycross World |

18 August / Two time W Series champion Jamie Chadwick is to drive in the RX150 class of the 5 Nations British Rallycross Championship. Chadwick will race at Pembrey this coming weekend. “I’m so excited to get my first taste of rallycross … it’s something I’ve wanted to do for a long time so I’m very grateful to Pembrey for the opportunity. I’m looking forward to learning as much as possible and enjoying the experience,” said Chadwick. Truck racer Ryan Smith will also guest in the RX150 series.

Rallycross World | Jamie Chadwick, RX150, 5 Nations British Rallycross

20 August / The third round of Finland’s Rallicross SM took place at Oulu Zone, the first time since 2016 that the series had visited the northern venue. returning after skipping round two, Jere Kalliokoski (Ford Fiesta) quickly re-established his title bid by grabbing his first win of the year. Round two winner and points leader Mike Liimatainen (Fiesta) placed second, ahead of Henri Haapamaki (Fiesta) who was back on the podium here after problems in round two. Olli Lahti won the SRC (Supernational) class and extended his series lead over Ville Mikkonen. The Autojross class continued to be dominated by Jere Tikka whose Toyota MR2 has yet to be beaten this year and this time led home Supercar racers who also drive in this category, Liimatainen and Ivari Niemi. Matias Lautamaki was the winner of round three in the new V1600 class.

Rallycross World | Jere kalliokoski, Oulu Zone, Rallicross SM
Rallycross World | Olli Lahti, Oulu Zone, Rallicross SM
Rallycross World | Mika Liimatainen, Porsche, Oulu Zone, Rallicross SM

21 August / The Hungarian and Austrian championships met at the PS Racing Centre at Greinbach where Tamas Karai (Audi S1) battled with Mate Benyo (Ford Focus) before taking a narrow win in the final. Benyo was fastest in the first two qualifiers before Karai bagged the third. In the final Karai got the drop on top qualifier Benyo and led the way home while Zoltan Koncseg in a second Karai Motorsport Audi completed the podium. Roland Rohrer was best of the home racers in fifth place with his Mitsubishi Lancer E6. Lehel Laczko (Opel Astra) set the pace in Super1600 but was out of luck in the final and trailed hom in fifth and last place as Dominik Senegacnik (VW Polo) stepped up to take the win. The SuperTouringCar category delivered a +2000 win for Zion Gabay (BMW E36) while Ferenc Ficza (Peugeot 208) inflicted a rare -2000 defeat on Roman Castoral (Opel Astra). -1600 was the biggest of the three classes and produced a home victory for Dominik Rath (Peugeot 207). The Suzuki Swift-based Junior series produced another win for Adam Kelo Gere who led home Bendeguz Kunkli and Akos Gonda. Other Hungarian categories in the event were won by Mihaly Stadler (Opel Astra), Kristof Csuti (Hankook Swift), Gabor Kenesei (1400 Swift) and Benjamin Lorant (MX5). The final of Austrian National 1600 class was won by Martin Gradwohl (Citroen Saxo).

Rallycross World | Tams Karai, PS Racing Center, Greinbach, Hungarian Rallycross, Austrian Rallycross
Rallycross World | Dominik Senegacnik, PS Racing Center, Greinbach, Hungarian Rallycross, Austrian Rallycross

21 August / The final round of the Swedish national championship, Rallycross SM was run at Kalix in the north of Sweden. In the championship battle the 2400 class produced a battle with Viktor Fahlgren (Hyundai Accent) the top qualifier. Championship favourite Andreas Israelsson (BMW M3) had a quiet run through the heats but then placed second to Timmy Enlund (BMW E30) in semi-final two before going on to win the final and seal the title. In contrast, new 2150cc champion Filip Martinsson (BMW E36) led from the front, beaten only in Q1, Martinsson dominated the event, beating the similar E36s of Anton Eriksson Therus Fredrik Tinnsten in the final and putting his name on the championship trophy. the Junior class ran within the 2150 field at this event, Oskar Hellstrom best of the younger racers and confirming the championship title ahead of Filip Thoren. A handful of Supercar Lites also appeared at the event. An SM championship class this year, Martin Jonsson took the win and the title. The event also included Supernationell as the category continues to re-estabish itself. Local racer and snowmobile legend Emil Ohman (Volvo S40) was the winner

Rallycross World | Andreas Israelsson, SM Rallycross
Rallycross World | Filip Martinsson, SM Rallycross

This weekend / It’s a holiday weekend in Britain so that means rallycross but the August summer weekend has been at Pembrey not Lydden recently and that is the case again this year as the British Championship comes together in Wales. At Jekabpils in Latvia the Latvian-Lithuanian Championship hosts its penultimate round of the year and in Norway the NM series moves on to Fuglehaugen Motorsenter at Gol.

pics: Rallicross SM, 5 Nations BRX, SBF, PS Racing Center,

« »