Pastrana wins Nitro Rallycross. Tohill again in Ireland.

Seven days in rallycross 19 November

by Rallycross World |

11 November / Having starred in the FIA European Rallycross Championship for RX3 in his maiden season, Kobe Pauwels will drive in the FIA RX2e series at Nurburgring.

Rallycross World | Kobe Pauwels_

12 November / Having missed his chance to drive in the first RX2e race because of a positive COVID test, Spanish crosskart racer Pepe Arque is set to make his first appearance in the series at Nurburgring.

Rallycross World | Pepe Arque_-8

14 November / Derek Tohill maintains his winning streak in the Irish Rallycross Championship by taking victory in round four of the series. Supercar drivers take the top three places in the Superfinal, Fiesta driver Tohill joined on the podium by Declan Kelly (Fiesta) and Tommy Graham (Fiesta VI). Tohill had won the Supercar final earlier in the afternoon. On that occasion Graham got the better of Kelly’s newer Fiesta to place second. Among the Modified (Supernational) runners, Philip Kelly (Toyota MR2) won the final ahead of Peter McGarry (Volvo C30), the lead duo evenly matched and comfortably clear of third placed Alan Crocket (Vauxhall Corsa). Ben Mullins won the Fiesta Zetec final, Padraig Leeson was best of the Buggy finalists and Thomas O’Rafferty won the Rally Car class. Loughlin Farrell was again the only the only Junior starter. Autocross cars were again provided a class, William Cavanagh (Yacar) setting FTD ahead of Brendan Stone (Subaru Impreza).

Rallycross World | Derek_Tohill_IRX_RD2

14 November / Travis Pastrana takes victory in the third round of Nitro RX at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park in Phoenix. While Pastrana (Subaru Impreza) took his first victory in the series of which he is the creator, Timmy Hansen (Peugeot 208) placed second and retained the lead of the series and Pastrana’s teammate Scott Speed placed third. NASCAR star Kyle Busch made his first start in rallycross. Driving a de-badged Subaru, Busch started on the back row of the final and placed fourth at the chequer, helped in part by retirements from Kevin Hansen (mechanical), Tanner Foust and Steve Arpin (both out with punctures). Cabot Bigham bounced back from his massive round two crash to take fifth place in his Audi that had required 680 hours of repair work.
The NRX Next racers had a double-header weekend again with both events won by Sage Karam in a Dreyer reinbold racing entry. George Megennis made the podium on both days in the #YellowSquad car while consistent scoring kept Casper Jansson (Enlunds Motorsport) on top of the ooints chart, albeit now level pegging with Dreyer Reinbold’s Lane Vacala.

17 November / The 5 Nations British Rallycross Championship announces that its season will be cut short and there will be no replacement for the event planned at Spa-Francorchamps. In a statement the championship said “It is disappointing that once again factors out of our control have ended our season. It would have been great to have gone out with a bang knowing that we were holding our final races of the year but we still had avenues open that could have given us another round of competition. Unfortunately, we were unable to make those options work.”
The winner of the British Championship is not yet clear, information from the championship stating “results are subject to ongoing enquiry by Motorsport UK and points remain provisional.” After the last event to be run Derek Tohill held a two point lead over Ollie O’Donovan at the head of the points chart. Champions for the other champions within the series have been announced as: Supernational, Jason Bleasdale (Vauxhall VX220); Junior, Max Langmaid (Suzuki Swift); Swift Sport, Max Weatherley; Super1600, Craig Lomax (Citroen C1); BMW Mini, Stephen Brown; BMW All4 Mini, Marty Hawkes; RX150, Patrick O’Donovan; Retro Rallycross, Simon Hart (Ford Escort MkI); SuperRetro, Barry Stewart (Porsche 911); Group B & 4WD, Andy Grant (Ford Focus); Electro Rallycross, Dan Welch (Fiat 500e).

Rallycross World | Lomax_BRX_R7
Rallycross World | Hawkes_BRX_R3

This weekend / Nitro RX moves on to Glen Helen Raceway for it’s fourth weekend. The Belgian Championship concludes at Mettet and the Portuguese Cup event takes place at Castelo Branco where all classes except for Supercar will do battle in the annual event that will streamed on the RX Portugal YouTube channel.

For our full guide of where to watch rallycross this year see the link below. This is updated regularly but remember to check with event organisers before travelling, even if events are on there may be restrictions on public access.

Pics: Nitro RX, RX2e, IRX, 5 Nations BRX

« »