Nitiss, Raymond, Martell in RX2e. National news from Poland, Russia, Norway, Germany, UK.

Seven days in rallycross 1 September

by Rallycross World |

26 August  /  The FIA RX2e championship announces that Cyril Raymond will race one of its cars in World RX of Loheac. Out of a regular drive since the end of the 2019 World RX season in which he raced within GCK, Raymond took victory in the Projekt E electric series in Latvia last year and has tested the RX2e car.

Rallycross World | Cyril Raymond_-5

27 August  /  Reinis Nitiss is the latest name to be added to the RX2e roster, the Latvian star joining the grid for World RX of Loheac. The youngest ever World RX event winner, Nitiss has diversified his career more recently taking in rallies and rallycross. He recently won the Cross Car championship in the Baltic Rallycross series.

Rallycross World | Reinis Nitiss_-1

29 August  /  FIA World Rallycross Championship leader Timmy Hansen, driving with Catie Munnings, wins the Arctic X Prix, the third event of the Extreme E season. Staged at Kangerlussuaq in Greenland. Johan Kristoffersson and Molly Taylor placed second with Kevin Hansen and Mikaela Ahlin Kottulinsky third.

Rallycross World | Timmy Hansen, Catie Munnings, Extreme E

29 August  /  The Polish and Czech championships share a weekend at Poznan where Zbigniew Stanislewski (Ford Fiesta)  takes the event win at head of Oponeo pairing Marcin Gagacki and Dariusz Topolewski (Fiestas). The overall Supernational (SuperTouringCar) win is taken by Roman Castoral (Opel Astra), Jakubn Michal (Peugeot 206) and “Gigi” (BMW E36) completing the top three. Within that overall result there were separate winners for the different capacity splits: Thomas Michal (VW Polo) was best of the over 2000cc drivers, Jakub Kowalczyk (Honda Civic) won the up to 2000cc class and Konrad Gryz (Peugeot 106) took the 1600cc class.

29 August  /  Dane Magnus Dall had a good weekend out when the Belgian and German championships took place at the Estering. The winner on both days in his Renault Clio Supercar, Dall led home Dietmar Brandt (VW Golf) and Victor Smolski (Audi S4) on Saturday. In Sunday’s event Smolski placed second with Malik Bohling (Audi TT) in third place. Bjorn Urbach (VW Golf) won the  over 2000cc DRX Supernational category on each day, Sven Seeliger (Ford Fiesta) best of the up to 2000cc and Super1600 combined group twice over the weekend.  It was a similar story among the Belgian visitors, Steve Volders (Ford Fiesta) and Kristof Bex (Volvo S40) each unbeaten. Dany Born (Peters) took the adult cross car win on each day, Kobe Pauwels second on Saturday and Victor Vranckx the runner up on Sunday. Emilien Allart (Squal Car) was best of the Junior Cross Car field on both days. The DRX production classes also had double winners, Tim Kullikowksi (Opel Corsa B), Andreas Huhn (Honda Civic) and Tim Reinert (Citroen Saxo) winning the three categories.

Rallycross World | DRX, Estering

29 August  /  The penultimate round of Norway’s NM Rallycross series moved to Gol, a new addition to the national series for 2021. Jonas Dalseth Jacobsen (VW Polo)  not only got the better of championship rival Fredrik Agedal (BMW), but took the win with Agedal a non-finisher in the final. Emil Sivesind (Audi) and Robin Rorvik (Volvo) joined Jacobsen on the podium. The 2400 class was eventually won by Simen Engsvik (Volkswagen) who led home Frode Leirhol’s BMW and Andreas Aarhug. Asmund Holten made good use of his TouringCar-spec Ford Fiesta to win the 2000cc final ahead of Thomas Harberg (Opel) and Bjorn Cato Aarekol (Skoda Fabia). After a difficult couple of events, Espen Isaksaetre (Peugeot 108) bagged a Super1600 win ahead of Sebastien Hoidalen (Ford Fiesta) and Jonas Brenden Klovstad (Peugeot).  Local racer Lars Lostergard (Honda Civic) started as favourite on a track he knew well in comparison to his rivals, but the Junior field made a fight of it and Sindre Madsen Moe (Peugeot) split the qualifiers two each with Lostegard. In the final it was close again but the local driver gained the win ahead of Moe and Henrik Gjervan (Opel). The historic class was won by Arnfinn Bergseng’s MkI Ford Escort with Bjorn Egil Dalen second in his VW Beetle and the similar car of Marius Sannerhaugen third.

Rallycross World | NM Rallycross Gol, Jonas Dalseth Jacobsen, VW Polo
Rallycross World | NM Rallycross Gol, Historic Rallycross, Arnfinn Bergseng, Escort MkI

29 August  /  The annual President’s Cup event at Kazan closed the 2021 Russian Rallycross Championship. Rais Minnikhanov (Supercar) Marat Knyazev (Super1600) and Egor Sanin (National) were the main class winners in the prestigious annual event.

30 August  /  The 5 Nations British Rallycross Championship held its second weekend of 2021 action at Pembrey over the British holiday weekend. Six-time champion Julian Godfrey emerged as the winner in the British Championship (Supercar) class which had a single event over the two days, while the supporting series ran double-headers forming rounds three and four of their championships. Young Latvian racer Roberts Vitols (Citroen C4) passed Steve Hill to take second place but could not unseat Godfrey. Ollie O’Donovan (Ford Fiesta) also made his way past Hill’s Mitsubishi to place third.
Max Langmaid dominated the Junior championship, winning the final on both days, each time leading home Owen Robbins. Caitlin May was third in round three while Will Ovenden occupied the position in round four.
Paige Bellerby (Lotus Exige) won the Supernational Final on both days, each time leading home Jason Bleasdale’s Vauxhall VX220. Barry Stewart (Porsche 911) and Ray Morgan (Ford Escort MkIII) were the winners in the over 1600cc Retro Rallycross category while in the smaller engined split the Sunday win was taken by Steve Cozens (Citroen AX) and Tony Lynch (Toyota MR2), the latter achieving his first win the car after spinning out of contention on Sunday. In what must count as some kind of record, all three starters in the Super1600 championship were disqualified after Sunday’s R3 final for not complying with regulations on use of judicial cameras. Craig Lomax (Citroen C1) won R4 on Monday, leading home Darren Scott and Phil Chicken (both Citroen C2).

rallycross World | British RX, Pembrey, Junior, Langmaid

31 August  /  Dorian Deslandes is announced as the tenth driver in the FIA RX2e field for World RX of Loheac. The 18-year-old second generation French racer is currently taking part in the Clio Sport Junior series within the Rallycross France events and back in 2019 was the youngest winner of a Division Four event in the French series. The former kart racer has also done rallies and will diversify his experience further with his first taste of electric motor sport.

Rallycross World | Dorian Deslandes, Rallycross France, renault sport, RX2e_-7

This weekend  /  All eyes will be on Loheac where the FIA World Rallycross Championship moves into its third event of 2021. There is some national action out there for you too, RX Portugal moves to Macao while in  Finland Hyvinkaa hosts Rallicross SM.

For our full guide of where to watch rallycross this year see the link below. This is updated regularly but remember to check with event organisers before travelling, even if events are on there may be restrictions on public access.

Pics: RX2e, Extreme E, DRX, NBF, British RX, Rallycross Russia,

« »