Kalliokoski’s hat-trick. Graham wins IRX. Swedish trio for RX2e.

Seven days in rallycross 11 August

by Rallycross World |

05 August / The FIA RX2e series announces that Nils Andersson will race on of the all-electric cars in round two of the championship at Holjes. A front-runner in the Supercar Lites category of RallyX Nordic after graduating from a successful crosskart career. Andersson will be joined by compatriots Isak Reiersen and Isak Sjokvist, each of the trio of young racers a debutant at this level of competition.

Rallycross World | RX2e, Nils Andersson
Rallycross World | Isak Reiersen
Rallycross World | Isak Sjokvist

08 August / Jere Kalliokoski continued his winning ways in Finland by bagging his third consecutive Rallicross SM victory. The third round of the series was run at Kouvola where Kalliokoski (Fiesta) dominated the event winning al three qualifiers, the semi-final and final. Joni-Pekka Rajala (Mitsubishi Mirage) placed second with Henri Haapamaki third in his Fiesta and having by the best result of his Supercar season so far. In the Supernational series Juha-Pekka Pesonen (Toyota Corolla) became the third different winner in three events. Pesonen was joined on the podium by Are Salonen (Ford Escort) and Ville Mikkonen (BMW E46), the latter retaining his lead in the championship ahead of Rajala who placed fourth in the final in his Escort Estate. Mika Liimatainen (Porsche 911) just missed the Supercar podium in his Fiesta but won the Autokross final. Tuomos Venalainen (Datsun Finn) and Jori Seppala (Toyota MR2) completed the top three finishers. Rajala (Datsun Finn) continues to lead the championship despite placing 11th in Kouvola.


09 August / Tommy Graham emerges as the winner of the second round of the Irish Rallycross Championship at Mondello Park. Derek Tohill dominated the day, winning all qualifying races and the Supercar final, but throttle problems in the event-closing Superfinal dropped him to last place and allowed Graham (Fiesta) to take the win. Thomas O’Rafferty and Declan Kelly placed second and third with Peter McGarry (Volvo C30) best of the two-wheel drive runners in fourth place. McGarry had earlier won the Modified final in which he beat Philip Kelly (Toyota MR2) and Stanley Bovill (Ford Escort). Christopher Grimes Jnr. was best of the Fiesta Zetec runners while Damien Farrell beat Dale Singleton in the Juior final. Jake O’Sullivan (Semog) won the Buggy final, leading home Se Og Martin and Shane Magee.

Rallycross World | Tommy Graham, Irish RX, Mondello Park
Rallycross World | Peter McGarry, Irish RX Mondello Park

This weekend  /  It’s busy as many championships begin to move to the end of their season, RallyX Nordic wraps up at Arvika, the Norwegian Championship has its annual visit to Momarken and Baltic RX goes to Vilkyciai. At the other end of the scale, the Eurocircuit at Valkenswaard returns to action with the Dutch and Belgian Championships secheduled for a busy weekend while at the Estering (so far used only for testing and some training days) the German series gets underway.

For our full guide of where to watch rallycross this year see the link below. This is updated regularly but remember to check with event organisers before travelling, even if events are on there may be restrictions on public access.

« »