Poles on top in Italy and at Poland’s new Poznan track.

Seven days in rallycross 4 August

by Rallycross World |

1 August  /  The fifth round of the Campionato Italiano RX 2021 took place at Castelletto  where the CEZ series was also on the bill and title holder in the latter series, Zbigniew Staniszewski (Ford Fiesta) took the event win. Alois Holler (Fiesta) had his best finish for some time in second place with Italian Rosario Corallo (Subaru Impreza) placing third. Gian Maria Gabbiani (Peugeot 208 T16 R5) won the RX5 sub-category for R5 cars. Czech driver Libor Tejes (Audi A1) led the Super1600 finishers and was joined on the podium by Balazs Kormoczi (Suzuki Swift) and Dominik Senegacnik (VW Polo). In a first for tyhe RX Italia series, Austrian female Nadine Kellner (Peugeot 106) won the up to 1600cc SuperTouringCar (STC) final. Roman Castoral (Opel Astra) won the 2000cc final and Thomas Handlos (Honda Civic) was best of the over 2000cc field. Marco Berniga (Planet Kartcross K3) won the Kartcross final ahead of Belgian visitor Kobe Pauwels (LifeLive TN5).

Rallycross World | Nadine Kellner, RX Italia, Castelletto
Rallycross World | Libor Tejes, RX Italia, Castelletto

01 August  /  The Latvian Rallycross Championship moved to the Baronu Trase for its second event of the year. Edvards Egle (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo) was best of the Supercar racers in the final in which he overcame pacesetters Martins Svilis (Renault Clio) and Edijs Oss (Skoda Fabia). Arnis Odins took the Super1600 victory while in Crosskart Ronalds Baldins gained trhe measure of Reinis Nitiss with Maris Breicis in third place.

Rallycross World | Rallycross LV, Edvards Egle, Baroni Trase
Rallycross World | Rallycross LV, Ronalds Baldins, Baroni Trase

01 August  /  A new track at Poznan was the scene for the third round of the Polish Rallycross Championship. Darius Topolewski (Ford Fiesta) had a perfect day out, winning all four qualifiers and then winning the final. He was joined on the podium by Maciej Manejkowski and Bartosz Idzkowski (Mitsubishi Lancer E9). Czech visitor Jan Ratajsky (Skoda Fabia) fought back from a non-start in the first qualifier to win the Supernational category. Super1600/RX3 newcomer Damian Litwinowicz (Audi A1)  was fastest in Q3 raced hard through most of the day with Jakub Kowalczyk (Honda Civic) who went fastest in all three remaining qualifiers. Come the finals, however, neither could match Ratajsky. Thomas Lyskowicz (BMW E36) was best of the over 2000cc cars, winning ahead of Belgian Ludo Hermans (Volvo S40) and Lukasz Zoll (Volvo S40). Jaroslaw Frydych (BMW E36) was best of the 31 starters in the all-BMW RWD Cup and Robert Zalewski topped the order among the 36 runners in the SC Cup for Fiat Cinquecento and Sceicentos.

Rallycross World | Polish Rallycross, Poznan, Darius Topolewski
Rallycross World | Polish Rallycross, Poznan, Litwinowicz, Ratajsky

This weekend  /  Irish Rallycross is also back in action at Mondello Park.
The Finnish series moves to Kouvola for round three. You can watch a livestream of the Rallicross SM event here or catch up on what happened last time at Jalasjarvi below.

For our full guide of where to watch rallycross this year see the link below. This is updated regularly but remember to check with event organisers before travelling, even if events are on there may be restrictions on public access.

« »