Kalliokoski top in Finland. Oss wins in Riga. Delaunay again in France.

Seven days in rallycross 14 July

by Rallycross World |

9 July  /  Hedstroms Motorsport announces that it will partner with GRX SET to provide a Hyundai i20 for Peter Hedstrom in Sweden’s FIA World RX event at Holjes.  With all of its cars in the hands of customers for the event, Hedstroms Motorsport worked with sponsors to seek an alternative for multiple Swedish Champion Peter Hedstrom. “We negotiated that the GRX team will help with the car in Holjes and upcoming competitions, we will be well prepared and I will be involved in fighting at the top. I will try to get a start in Arvika at the Swedish Championships and the RallyX final, it will be a nice test before Holjes,” said Hedstrom who will race the i20 driven by Timur Timerzyanov last year.

Rallycross World | Peter Hedstrom, Hyundai i20

10 July  /  Jere Kallioski won the second round of the Finnish Rallycross Championship at Jalasjarvi to remain unbeaten in the series. The SM Rallicross event was run in mixed weather conditions and while Kalliokoski was able to win the final without serious challenge, he did have to survive three starts to the race to get there. The first start was lost after a jump start by Jukka Pykalainen (Skoda Fabia), the second when Jari Tuuri’s Fabia caught fire.  Jesse Kallio (Saab 93) had an impressive run to place second while Mika Liimatatien completed the podium in his Escort. Ville Mikkonen (BMW E46) beat Joni-Pekka Rajala (Ford Escort) to win the Supernational category but it was Rajala who topped the Autocross class in his Datsun Finn, Liimatainen placing second in his Porsche 911.


11 July  /  Rallycross returned to action at Mondello Park in Ireland where Derek Tohill won the opening round of the 2021 IRX series in his Ford Fiesta. The Irish Rallycross Championship is the only championship of note that still runs a Superfinal and Tohill took the win in the last race of the day after a dominant performance in which he was fastest in all three qualifiers and the winner of the Supercar final. Tommy Graham (Fiesta) was second qualifier, but the final required a restart in which Tohill, Declan Kelly (Fiesta) and Derrick Jobb (Focus) were the only finishers. The top three in the Superfinal was the same, with Philip Kelly (Toyota MR2) was best of the two-wheel drive cars having earlier finished second in the Modified final to Alan Crockett (Vauxhall Corsa). Loughlin Farrell was best of the Junior racers, Jake O’Sullivan (Semog) won the Buggy final and the Ford Fiesta Zetec category was won by Michael Ryan.

Rallycross World | Derek Tohill, Mondello Partk, Irish RX, IRX

11 July  /  Rallycross France moved to Lessay for its third round of the year. Mixed weather hit the event but could not stop Romauld Delaunay (Citroen DS3) who collected his third successive victory of the year. Unbeaten in the series so far, Delaunay renewed his duel Samuel Peu (Peugeot 208) who placed second. “Knapick” made the best start to the final and eventually brought his Citroen DS3 home in third place. Julien Febreau (Peugeot 208) joined Delaunay in the DA Racing fold and placed sixth in the final on his return to racing. “I am impressed myself! We shouldn’t let go, and it will be the same for the Championship, Samuel will not let go, me either, and we will have to attack every Sunday. I really appreciate Kerlabo, there is a nice Joker, fast and technical so that should be fun!” said Delaunay.

Rallycross World | Rallycross France, Lessay

Jimmy Terpereau (Citroen C2) took his second Super1600 win of the year, leading home Jeremy Lambec (Skoda Fabia) and David Moulin (Dacia Sandero) in the final. Round one winner David Bouet collected his second win of the year in the Junior Championship. Arthur le Boudouil was top qualifier in the one make series for Renault Clios but could not hold of Bouet who took the win. Edgar Maloigne placed third. Alizee Pottier returned to victory in the Coupe Feminine. Mathieu Trevian (VW Scirocco)  stepped up to win the Division Three final ahead of Nicolas Beaucle (Mercedes A Class). Jean-Mickael Guerin (Peugeot 206) upset the Division Four order to take the win.

Rallycross World | Rallycross France, Lessay, Junior, Renault Clio

11 July / Two days of racing at Bikernieki in Riga finally gets the Latvian and Baltic Rallycross Championship seasons underway. Edijs Oss wins on both days, continuing what is turning into a very good season with his new Skoda Fabia Supercar. Ronalds Baldins and Edvards Egle (yes, really!) complete the podium on the first day. Baldins is also active in Crosskart where he bags the win ahead of Reinis Nitiss. Juris Spikis is best of the Super1600 field, the Skoda driver leading home Arnis Odins and Modris Zentins. Maija Stakena wins the Super2000 final in her Ford Puma.In Sunday’s Baltic RX event Oss is chased home by Maiko Tamm and Janis Vegeris while Nitiss turns the table on Baldins to win in Crosskart. Martins Spikis takes the Super1600 win and Stakena is best of the Super2000 field again.

Rallycross World | Baltic RX, Latvian RX, Edijs Oss, Skoda Fabia, Bikernieki
Rallycross World | Baltic RX, Latvina RX, Maija Stakena, Ford Puma, Bikernieki

11 July / The fourth round of the Russian Rallycross Championship took place at Ryazan. Igor Plotnikov managed to beat Rais Minnikhanov toi take the win in Supercar. Marat Knyazev collected the Super1600 victory, this time leading home Alexander Tikhonov and Maxim Simonov. Mikhail Simonov beat Igor Sanin to win the National 1600 class and Daniel Slepov won the National class, Nikolay Kalinin took the Junior class victory.

Rallycross World | Russian Rallycross, Ryazan

This weekend  /  A quieter weekend ahead, but there will be more Russian Rallycross at Ryazan this weekend.
For our full guide of where to watch rallycross this year see the link below. This is updated regularly but remember to check with event organisers before travelling, even if events are on there may be restrictions on public access.

« »