World RX changes afoot. Irish RX, Est Rallikross, Larsen’s NM Rallycross.

Seven days in rallycross 7 October

by Rallycross World |

2 October    The 5 Nations British rallycross Championship issues a ’save the date’ notice for 7-8 November and 19 December. There are no details of venues, the championship is still hopeful of retaining the scheduled 14-15 November event at Mondello Park.

Rallycross World 5 Nations British Rallycross, BRX, Lydden

3 October     The final round of the Estonian Rallycross Championship, est Rallikross, takes place at Kulbilohu where Arvo Kask (Mitsubishi Lancer E6) becomes the champion despite not finishing in the final. The day belongs to Sedio Nommkula (Peugeot 207) who is the top qualifier and wins the final. Kask qualifies second but goes out of the final in the first lap along with Raini Roomets (Skoda Fabia). Andri Oun is a non-starter in the final round and Kask (who missed the opening round) takes the series by six points ahead of Oun. Janno Ligure (Skoda Fabia) wins the Super1600 final and takes the championship title ahead of Siim Saluri (Citroen C2). Saluri is top qualifier and wins semi-final one but non-starts in the final. Martin Juga (Lada Samara) becomes the Junior 1600 champion. Ligur Racing’s Margo Soomets (Ford Fiesta) wins the TouringCar category in the final round, but the title goes to Romi Pukk (BMW 120). Andre Kil (Semog Bravo) wins Crosskart Xtreme and collects the series title while Joosep Ralf Nogene becomes the Junior champion despite being beaten on the day by Sander Sepp (Speedcar Xtreme).

rallycross World | Arvo Kask, Est Rallikross, Mitsubishi Lancer E6

4 October    The Irish Rallycross Championship resumes at Mondello Park where Derek Tohill (Ford Fiesta) takes a comfortable win after setting fastest time in each of the three qualifiers and the Supercar final. In the only series of note still using a Superfinal, Tohill progresses from the Supercar final (where he leads home Tommy Graham and Declan Kelly) to win the last race of the day, again joined by Graham and Kelly on the podium. Fourth place is taken by Tomas O’Rafferty (Supercar Fiesta) wth Supernational winner Peter McGarry fifth in his Volvo C30. McGarry qualified second for the Superfinal after beating Willie Coyne (Opel Corsa) and Philip Kelly (Toyota MR2) in the final. The ‘Retro RX’ class is won by Davy Aiken (Vauxhall Nova), Shane Stanley (Honda Civic) is best of the Rally Car class, Denis McCrudden wins the Fiesta Zetec final, Loughlin Farrell wins the Junior final and Se Og Martin wins the Buggy final.

Rallycross World | Derek_Tohill, IRX, Mondello Park

4 October    Kjetil Larsen (below, VW Polo) retains the Norwegian Rallycross Championship title after finishing third in the final round of the shortened series at Momarken. The event is won by Peter Hedstrom (VW Polo) who does take points in the series. David Nordgaard (Fiesta) places second but is beaten to the title by Larsen. Marius Bermingrud borrows a Ford Focus Supercar from his uncle Morten and places fourth in his first Supercar start. Lars Andersson (VW Polo) is fifth ahead of Morten Bermingrid (Fiesta). Ole Henry Steinsholt (Skoda Fabia) took his first victory in Super1600 but the championship title went to Espen Isaksaetre (Peugeot) who was second in the final, ahead of Martin Kjaer. Second place in the Junior final was enough for Sindre Madsen Moe to become the Junior champion. Roar Presthus won the final while Andrine Rafoss could do no more than fifth place driving with her hand in plast having suffered an injury in round two. Jonas Dalseth Jacobsen (VW Polo) took the over 2400cc Supernational win and the class title, Jorgen Syversen (Ford) won the up to 2400cc final and the championship. Per Magne Svardal (Peugeot) won the up to 2000cc class in which Emil Sivesand (Audi) emerged as the champion.

Rallycross World | NM Rallycross, Momarken, Kjetil Larsen

5 October reports that IMG will cease to be the promoter of the FIA World Rallycross Championship at the end of the year. IMG secured the rights to the FIA European Rallycross Championship during the summer of 2012 and tookm control of the series from 2013. It holds a 20-year contract with the FIA but series boss Paul Bellamy said in a statement: “Despite this year’s challenges, we are proud to be delivering the 2020 FIA World Rallycross and FIA European Rallycross Championships this season, and looking forward to Spain, Belgium and Germany to complete the season. We are currently evaluating multiple options for the future of these championships in discussion with the FIA, and will share more detail in due course.”

Rallycross World | World RX, FIA

This weekend     French rallycross drivers get their first chance to race on home ground this year in a non-championship events at Essay and the Hungarian Championship continues at the Rabocsi-ring at Mariapocs. We are doing the best to keep our calendar of events and where you can watch rallycross in 2020 up to date for you. Postponed and cancelled events remain shown but marked as a record of the carnage wrought on the 2020 schedule by Covid-19.

« »