Larsson is Nordic champ. Peu wins French crown. Bakkerud and Wiman to Subaru.

Seven days in rallycross 26 September

by Rallycross World |

22 September    The sixth round of the British Rallycross Championship is run at Pembrey in South Wales where Derek Tohill and points leader Julian Godfrey spend two days locked in combat. Tohill comes out on top in the final to reduce Godfrey’s championship lead to two points with two rounds over a double-header weekend at Croft left to run in October. Roger Thomas achieves his first podium placing with his new Fiesta. Tristan Ovenden (Renault Clio V6) takes his sixth consecutive win of the year to put the Supernational crown beyond the reach of his rivals. Guy Corner takes second in his new Lotus Exige and Super1600 class winner Jarek Suchowiecki (Citroen C2) is third. The Junior, Swift and BMW Mini championships run two events over the weekend. Saturday’s Junior final is cancelled after two red flags. Results are declared on qualifying positions with Luke Constantine taking the win ahead of Patrick O’Donovan and Ben Sayer. Things are smoother on Sunday when Sayer drives a strong strategic race, takes his Joker early and then works back through the pack quickly to take his first win ahead of O’Donovan and Constantine. Will Layton and Max Weatherley take the Swift Sport wins, the BMW Mini victories are shared by Drew Bellerby and David Bell. Gary Simpson continues his unbeaten run in Retro Rallycross and Chrissy Palmer wins again as the RX150 series returns.

Rallycross World | Tohill Godfrey Pembrey British RX

22 September    Samuel Peu is the new French Rallycross Champion. Claiming the crown for the second time with one event of the nine-race series remaining, Peu (Peugeot 208) scored his second event win of the season by leading home Jean-Sebastien Vigion (Citroen DS3) and David Olivier (Renault Logan) at Mayenne. It is Olivier’s first top-three finish of the year. Not slowing down despite having secured the Super1600 crown in round seven, Yvonnick Jagu (Skoda Fabia) claimed his sixth event win of the year and was joined on the podium by Jeremy Lambec (Fabia) and David Moulin (Dacia Sandero). the Twingo Cup had a new winner as FFSA Rallye Jeunes driver Romain Masselin turned promise into results. Melanie Lefrancois won the Ladies cup for the third time while David Vincent (Renault Clio) won again in Division Three and Geoffroy Blanchard (Honda Civic) took is first Division Four win. Xavier Goubill (Peugeot 306) crashed out in the first lap but still secured the D4 championship.

Rallycross World | Peu Vigion Rallycross France Mayenne

22 September    Robin Larsson (Audi S1) adds the RallyX Nordic crown to his FIA European Rallycross Supercar Championship title in a dramatic final event at Tierp. Larsson was top qualifier but then had a problem at the start of the semi-final and failed to make the cut for the final. Mattias Ekstrom made a guest appearance in the series and qualified on pole for the final. Ekstrom withdrew with a technical problem which opened the door for Larsson to start on the back row of the final. As last race unfolded Oliver Eriksson (Honda Civic) looked to be on course for the event win and the title, but on the last lap he crashed after the car suffered a suspension failure. Larsson had progressed to third and now moved up to second as Kevin Eriksson (Fiesta) took the event win. Sebastian Eriksson placed third in the Eklund Motorsport VW Beetle. Linus Ostlund claimed his first Supercar Lites win ahead of Sondre Evjen and Ben-Philip Gundersen, the latter having secured the series title at the intermediate classification.

Rallycross World | Larsson Rally X Nordic Tierp

22 September    Rasmus Tuominen takes the RX Academy title by a single point over Tommi Hallman at Tierp. The pair qualified first and second for the final with Hallman winning the race, his third event win of the year. Tuominen was able to play a numbers game however, starting the event with a five point lead and hanging on to win the championship despite Hallman’s victory. Klara Andersson made her debut in the series, the younger sister of former Euro Supercar racer Magda, she ended her day in the semi-finals.

Rallycross World | Tuominen RX Academy Tierp

24 September    Subaru Motorsports USA names Andreas Bakkerud and Joni Wiman as additional drivers for the last two events in the ARX season. Bakkerud and Wiman will drive in COTA this weekend and Mid Ohio next weekend as Subaru fields a four-car squad in its bid to take both driver and team titles. Subaru lost its leading driver and the championship points leader Scott Speed who suffered a back injury in August’s Nitro RX event. Ahead of the last two rounds, Speed leads the series by five points from Volkswagen’s Tanner Foist with Subaru pairing Patrik Sandell and Chris Atkinson nine points further adrift and tied in third place.

Rallycross World | Bakkerud Subaru ARX
« »