Hansen win sets up World RX showdown. Projekt E launch. Rytkonen is Finnish champ.

Seven days in rallycross 19 September

by Rallycross World |

13 September    World RX promoter IMG and STARD unveil the new Projekt E electric rallycross car on the eve of World RX of Latvia. The 450kW/1100Nm Supercar is unveiled to a full house in the Latvia’s National Motor Museum. Projekt E matches an electric drivetrain with current Supercar chassis technology and the first was presented in a new Ford Fiesta chassis based closely on STARD’s current World RX car. In a ground-breaking move the STARD’s REVelution drivetrain is revealed to freature three production road car motors, two at the rear connected to a common driveline and one at the front. “We are delighted to be partnering with IMG on this innovative project which will change the technical landscape in motorsport and rallycross in particular,” Manfred Strohl, President of Stohl Group, said. “There is a lot of activity in hybrid and electric racing at present but what sets Projekt E apart is the fact that the Projekt E race car can utilise road car electric motors.The performance of the racecar will be impressive when you consider that in terms of torque, the power unit is capable of 0-90% in about 32 milliseconds. The motors rotate at up to 14,000rpm. Projekt E will add a whole new, innovative dimension to rallycross in 2020.” Projekt E will be added to the mix of categories at World RX events.

Rallycross World | Projekt E

14 September    Juha Rytkonen (Fiesta) wins the fifth and final round of the Finnish Rallycross Championship (Rallicross SM) at Honkajoki and secures the championship title. Rytkonen had previously won round two and never been off the podium all year. At Honkajoki he is second qualifier to Joni-Pekka Rajala (Mitsubishi Mirage) and wins semi-final two. Jere Kalliokoski (Ford Fiesta) beats Rajala in semi one and then chases Rytkonen home in the final with Rajala completing the podium in third place. With the Supernational title already secured, Henri Haapamaki steps up to Supercar and places fourth in a Ford Fiesta. In Haapamaki’s absence Supernational is won by Olli Lahti (Fiesta) ahead of Peter Helenius (VW Scirocco) and Jussi Klemola (Fiesta). Rajala races in all three championships and places fourth in the final round of the Supernational class, third in the championship behind Haapamaki and Klemola. The autocross class provides championship success for Rajala who takes the title with victory in the final round in his Datsun Finn. The similar car of Tuomas Venalainen is second with Porsche 911 racer Mika Limatainen third.

Rallycross World | Rytkonen Rallicross SM Honkajoki
10 Rallycross World | Limatainen Rallicross SM Honkajoki Porsche

15 September    Timmy Hansen regains the lead of the FIA World Rallycross Championship by taking his fourth event win of the year at World RX of Latvia. Points leader entering the ninth round, Andreas Bakkerud (Audi S1) is top qualifier despite not winning any of the qualifers. Hansen has a tough first day and non-finishes Q2 after his Peugeot 208 is damaged in a tangle with Robin Larsson (Audi S1), the latter disqualified for his part in the incident. Hansen recovers well on Sunday, winning Q3 and Q4 to start semi two from pole. Rokas Baciuska (Renault Megane) is fastest in Q1 with Niclas Gronholm (Hyundai i20) on top in Q2. Bakkerud wins semi one from Gronholm and Liam Doran (Audi S1). Hansen is chased home in semi two by younger brother Kevin and Timur Timerzyanov (who had rolled in Q1). Hansen gets the best start in the final and leads all the way to the chequer, Gronholm and Bakkerud joining him on the podium.

The final round of the FIA European Rallycross Championships for Supercar and Super1600 also take place  in Riga. JB Durbourg (Peugeot 208) wins the final and secures second place in the championship (Robin Larsson secured the title at the previous event in France). In his first European Championship victory Dubourg is joined on the podium by younger brother Andrea and multiple Swedish champion Peter Hedstrom (VW Polo). Thomas Bryntesson loses his chance of second place in the championship after a first corner clash in semi-final one damaged the suspension on his Polo. Sebastian Eriksson (VW Beetle) was in contention to win until going off in the final and ending up fourth.

Rallycross World | Dubourg Latvia Riga Bikerniecki

Timur Shigabutdinov (Audi A1) claimed his first victory ahead of Artur Egorov’s similar car and the Skoda Fabia of Janno Ligur. Egor Sanin had appeared to be on course for the win until his Renault Twingo broke down. The championship is won by Aydar Nuriev (Audi A1) who sealed the title after being top qualifier but did not make the final after placing sixth in semi one.

Rallycross World | Nuriev Marton Ligur Susta Steinsholt Latvia Riga Bikerniecki

« »