Peu ahead in France. Godfrey and Tohill level in GB. Old boys to race in Holjes. Projekt E and more…

by Rallycross World |

22 June    The third round of the Estonian Rallycross Championship takes place on the airfield venue at Kuressaare where Raimo Kauttio is the winner. The VW Polo driver tops the intermediate classification after winning two of the three qualifiers, and wins semi-final one before taking the final. Roland Murakas (Fiesta) and Raini Roomiest (Skoda Fabia) complete the podium, the latter the winner of semi-final two. Roomets retains the championship lead with two rounds remaining. Mihail Simonov (Renault Clio) beats Janno Ligur (Fabia) and Toni Reunanen (Ford Ka) to win Super1600. Kristaps Grunte (BMW 120) is best of the TouringCar field, Marko Muru (Honda Civic) wins the Junior 1600 class and the Crosskart wins are taken by Andre Kil and Joosep Ralf Nogene, the latter winning the junior category.

22 June    The third round of the British Rallycross Championship is won by Julian Godfrey at the wheel of his trusty Fiesta. The multiple champion leads home Ollie O’Donovan (Fiesta) and Derek Tohill (Fiesta), the three championship front runners dominating the day with Godfrey replacing Tohill as points leader.  Tristan Ovenden (Renault Clio V6) maintains his unbeaten run in Supernational on a day when Paige Bellerby (Lotus Exige) crashes out, and Roberts Vitols finally gets the luck to match his pace and takes his first Junior win of the year. David Bell continues his winning ways in the BMW Mini series, Max Weatherley collects his first Swift Sport win of the year and Gary Simpson remains unbeaten in Retro Rallycross. Jon Armstrong tops the order in the RX150 series.

23 June     Tomasz Kuchar wins the fourth round of the Polish Rallycross Championship at Torun. The Peugeot 208 driver leads home Maciej Cywinski (Citroen C4) and Zbigniew Staniszewski (Fiesta). The Supernational win is taken by Robert Mazurkiewicz (Renault Clio) while Igor Sokulski (BMWE36) and Piotr Budzynski win the rear-wheel drive and Fiat Sciencento classes respectively.

23 June    The French Rallycross Championship reaches mid-season at Lavare where Samuel Peu (Peugeot 208) collects his first win of the year and marches into a clear championship lead as his main rivals are absent. Three-time event winner Francois Duval, Julien Febreau and the Pailler brothers miss the event but Peu does not have things all his own way, overcoming problems in Q1 before hitting his stride to run on the front and lead home Philippe Maloigne (Renault Clio) and Jean-Sebastien Vigion (Citroen DS3). Jimmy Terpereau (Citroen C2) gets the better of Yvonnick Jagu (Fabia) to take the Super1600 win. David Vincent (Clio) and Sebastien Le Ferrand (208) top Divisions Three and Four and Xavier Allereau wins the Twingo Cup category.

23 June   Derek Tohill wins the fourth round of the British Rallycross Championship at Pembrey. The second day of racing at the Welsh venue reverses the track direction (clockwise on Saturday, anti-clockwise on Sunday). Tohill leads him Julian Godfrey in the final, the pair ending the weekend level on points at the top of the championship after four of the eight events. Ollie O’Donovan places third in the final. Roberts Vitols and Tristan Ovenden win again in Junior and Supernational, the latter still unbeaten in 2019. Gary Simpson also remains unbeaten after his fourth win in Retro Rallycross. Drew Bellerby wins the BMW Mini class for the first time this year while Will Layton collects his first Swift Sport victory and Chrissy palmer returns to the top of the RX150 podium.

24 June  Finnskoga MK, the organiser of the Swedish World RX event at Holjes confirms some of the star names for the crosskart race that will be run on Friday evening of the ‘Magic Weekend’. Current World RX Team Principals Marcus Gronholm and Kenneth Hansen lead the line-up and will be joined by Henning Solberg, Stig-Olov Walfridson and Sverre Isachsen in a field of 12 cars that will also include current front runners in the class.

25 June    World RX promoter IMG confirms that its electric rallycross initiative Projekt E will be run over a series of selected events alongside the existing World Championship in 2020. Developed by STARD, the Projekt E cars are expected to use a twin-motor, four-wheel drive setup with 450kW and 1100Nm of torque. The chassis of the first car is based on STARD’s current World RX Fiesta and is due to be revealed in September.

« »