Reports from around the world, Doran gets second GCK run

Seven days in rallycross, 13 September

by Rallycross World |

8 September Andri Oun wins the final round of the Estonian Rallycross Championship at Kulbilohu to secure the title in his Ford Fiesta. Reinsalu Sport fields a second supercar in the event, S1600 racer Andre Kurg stepping up and placing second ahead of the Peugeot 207 of Sido Nommkula. Oun’s season long rival for the title, Raini Roomets (Skoda) place fourth on the day and ends the championship in second place. Kurg had already put the S1600 title beyond the reach of his rivals  and the final round was won by Janno Ois (Honda Civic) who secured second in the championship. Margo Soomets (Fiesta Mk VI) won again in TouringCar and took the championship by 32 points over Siim Sundema (Fiesta VII). Ruve Veski won the crosskart class but could not better second in the championship to Eero Nogene. Janis Baumanis and Reins Nitiss both raced crosskarts in the event, the pair placing fiurth and fifth, Nitiss after collecting a 30-second penalty that dropped him from third on the road.

8 September The seventh round of the BTRDA Clubmans Rallycross Championship is held at Lydden Hill, the first club event to run at the circuit since 2012. Junior racer Luke Constantine (Suzuki Swift) scores his seventh straight victory of the season, while Tony Lynch (Ford KA) snatches the Super Modified win from leader Tristan Ovenden (Renault Clio) when  the MSA Supernational points leader backs off with two laps remaining thinking he has victory in the bag. Ovenden makes amends by leading the Ryan Lawford Memorial Superfinal from lights to flag to claim victory from Lynch and Paul Coney (Vauxhall Corsa). Ciaran Murphy (Peugeot 106) wins the Production final, Ray Morgan (Ford Escort) wins the Classic final and Darren Clark (Nissan Pulsar) wins the Production 4×4 final.

9 September The third round of the Argentine Rallycross Championship is held at Puerto Madryn in Patagonia where Federico Villagra (Fiesta) emerges as the winner. Villagra takes the win ahead of former tennis star David Nalbandian (Chervolet Onix) and Friddy Bassi (Renault Clio).

Omar Kovcevich (Mitsubishi Lancer) wins the N4 category and Sebastian Monserrat (VW Gol) is best of the Junior racers. The first of the ‘SuperCARX’ cars is on hand at Puerto Madryn but restricted to demonstration and publicity runs.

09 September The Russian championship moves on to Belyy Kolodets Sports Kompleks. In the National category (which has the most competitors) Pavel Kalmanovich led home Egor Sabin and Michael Tagynov.  The D2 Junior class was won by Ilya Rodkin ahead of Amirhan Fayzrahmanov and Ola Yoshkar. Occasional FIA Euro Super1600 racer Artur Egorov won in Super1600, beating Kiril Konoplev and Diko Vacheslav while in SuperAuto Eugene Zhivotov beat Eugene Ushmaev and Nastya Voronkova to win.

9 September Luc Maris wins the Belgian Championship event at Maasmechelen, the Volvo S40 driver leading home the similar car of Kristof Bex (below) and Bert Bosmans’ C30 variant. Martijn Vanhove (BMW 210) wins the up to two-litre class and Steve Otzer (Citroen Saxo) wins again in Super1600 where he is already the champion.

10 September GCK names Liam Doran as its second driver for World RX of Latvia. The British driver will make his second appearance for the team in Riga having replaced Jerome Grosset-Janin for the French event at Loheac where he placed eighth.

10 September A test and media day for the new rallycross track at Tierp Arena is announced for 18 September. Tierp is 130km north of Stockholm and will host the final round of the RallyX Nordic season on a new track created around the drag strip at the venue. 

13 September Subaru Rally Team USA releases the latest edition of its Launch Control video series which focuses on the squad’s rallycross exploits in the third round of the ARX series at Trois-Rivieres in Canada where Jacques Villeneuve joined regular drivers Patrik Sandell and Chris Atkinson.



« »