Foust, Maloigne and Chicken win as Speed claims GRC title

Seven days in rallycross, October 21

by Hal Ridge |

The final round of the French Rallycross Championship was held at Dreux, where on the eve of the event the circuit was renamed after French legend Philippe Chanoine. In the event, where the third qualifying races were held on Saturday evening under floodlights, Albatec Racing driver Philippe Maloigne (Peugeot 208) dominated the qualifying stages, semi-finals and final to claim victory ahead of Guerlain Chicherit (Renault Clio) and Johnathan Pailler (Peugeot 208). Having already secured the crown, Fabien Pailler (Peugeot 208) didn’t make it further than the semi-finals. Samuel Peu (Citroen Saxo) once again won in Super1600, Mathieu Trévian (VW Scirocco) claimed victory in Division Three and Stéphane Hameau (Peugeot 306) was victorious in Division Four. Allan Mottais secured the Twingo R1 Cup and will race in an AFOR-backed Renault Twingo in the Super1600 category next season. Results here. See highlights video with Champion Pailler at the bottom of this page.

Tanner Foust (Volkswagen Beetle) dominated the final round of the Global Rallycross Championship in Los Angeles in a bid to claim the title but second to his Andretti Autosport team mate was enough for former Formula 1 driver Scott Speed (Volkswagen Beetle) to secure a third successive crown. Patrick Sandell (Subaru Impreza) completed the podium while Cabot Bigham (Ford Fiesta) was fourth. Mitchell De Jong was highest placed of the OlsbergsMSE Honda Civic drivers in sixth. Conner Martell won the GRC Lites final. Results here.

Rallycross stalwart Phil Chicken (Citroen C2) claimed his first outright rallycross victory in the penultimate round of the BTRDA Clubmans Rallycross Championship at Blyton Park in Lincolnshire, the Super1600 driver coming out on top of a close battle with Supernational racer Allan Tapscott (Vauxhall Corsa) in the Super Modified category. Paul Johnson (BMW M3) was second Mark Jones (Toyota MR2) finished third as Tapscott eventually finished sixth. Jeff Hope-Davis (Citroen Saxo) won the Production category, Jaidon Bennett (Seat Arosa) won in Junior Rallycross and another victory in the Historic class maintained Brian Hardman’s (Ford Escort) overall BTRDA rallycross lead. Results here.

Swedish driver Oliver Eriksson will race a Ford Fiesta Supercar run by his father Andreas’ OlsbergsMSE team in the final round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship in South Africa next month. Eriksson will drive alongside another OMSE Fiesta, in which South African Ashley Haigh-Smith.

« »