Andros Trophy begins, Volkswagen RX Sweden set for Euro RX

by Hal Ridge |

Jean-Philippe Dayraut (BMW M2) and reigning champion Jean-Baptiste Dubourg (Renault Clio) claimed a victory apiece in the opening round of the Andros Trophy winter series, held at Val Thorens in the French Alps. Dubourg finished second in the first points-scoring final of the weekend while Dayraut was third on the second day. Benjamin Riviere (BMW Mini) and Franck Lagorce (Mazda 3) claimed a third and second place respectively. Dayraut took the championship lead by a single point over Dubourg. In the Elite category, another rallycross driver, Christophe Jouet (Renault Clio) won, as did and Eddy Benezet (BMW M2), while Louis Gervoson and Christophe Ferrier both scored a victory in the Electric category to share the points lead.


Volkswagen RX Sweden will run a pair of Volkswagen Polo Supercars in the FIA European Rallycross Championship next year, the squad announced in a statement this week. Having worked together with Kristoffersson Motorsport in the 2016 FIA World Rallycross Championship, the 2017 project appears set to be run solely by Marklund Motorsport. The team’s announcement was followed a few hours later by a press release from Volkswagen Sweden, the Swedish arm of the German marque having supported the project this year. In its statement, Volkswagen Sweden said that it is still evaluating options to stay in motorsport next year, and hasn’t ruled out a return to World RX.

2016 FIA World Rallycross Championship / Round 03, Mettet, Belgium / May 14 - 15 2016 // Worldwide Copyright: IMG/McKlein

« »