First RX Academy names, Jones returns, Belgians pick pick-ups

by Hal Ridge |

The first three drivers to sign up to the recently launched RX Academy series that will run alongside the five-round Finnish Rallycross Championship next season have been announced. Finn Sami-Matti Trogen, who raced in Rallycross Challenge Europe events and the Estonian Rallycross Championship was the first driver to be announced alongside compatriot Kalle Markkanen, who entered FIA European Rallycross Championship events previously in a Super1600 BMW Mini, and finished on the podium in the North European Champiosnhip this year with the same car. Australian Troy Dowel has also been announced, having competed in four Australian RX events this year.


MSA Junior Rallycross Champion Sam Jones will graduate to the Supernational category in a Vauxhall-engined Suzuki Swift in 2018, following a sabbatical next season while the young driver takes his GCSE’s. Jones could race in events after the summer next term to develop the new front-wheel drive car, should it be ready in time.


The Belgian Rallycross Championship will have a new single-make category next year, for SsangYong Actyon Sports pick-ups, called The SRX Cup. The new concept will include a radical change to the way a car can qualify for the latter stages of an event, with different drivers able to drive any particular car during the qualifying stages. The proposed concept also allows passengers to ride on-board in the Belgian events.


« »