Foust, Pucher and Maloigne victorious in America, Austria and France

by Hal Ridge |

Tanner Foust (Volkswagen Beetle) dominated the opening two rounds of the Global Rallycross Championship, held in Phoenix. The former champion qualified on pole position on the first day of the double-header event and led the final throughout. Foust’s Andretti team mate, Scott Speed (Volkswagen Beetle), tailed his counterpart but dropped back during the final with mechanical dramas, handing second place to Patrik Sandell (Ford Fiesta) with Brian Deegan (Ford Fiesta) completing the podium. Steve Arpin (Ford Fiesta) finished fourth with Speed fifth. Both OlsbergsMSE built Honda Coupes had a difficult first day.

Tanner Foust won the opening two rounds of GRC. © Bull

On day two, the second round of the championship, Foust again won, but this team Speed was also problem free and finished second. Sebastien Eriksson (Honda Civic) switched to the team’s third car for the second day of competition and scored a maiden Civic podium in third. Sandell finished fourth with Arpin fifth.

OMSE raced new Civic for the first time in GRC opener. © Bull

In the GRC Lites category, Miki Weckstrom and Conner Martell took a win each over the two days, Wekstrom driving for the OMSE team and Martell in a Dirtfish Motorsport run car. The pair both finished on the podium on the opposing day to their victories, Cabot Bigham and Alex Keyes also claiming rostrum finishes.

Miki Weckstrom and Conner Martell both won in Lites at GRC opener. © Bull

Max Pucher (Ford Fiesta) won the fifth round of the FIA Central European Zone Championship at Sedlcany, which was also the third round of the Austrian Championship. Czech driver Miroslav Neumann (Mitsubishi Evo) finished second with Rene Derfler (Mitsubishi Evo) third. Josef Susta (Skoda Fabia) won the Super1600 final ahead of Austrian Werner Panauser (Citroen C2) and Martina Kouta (Skoda Fabia). Roman Castoral (Opel Astra) won the SuperTouringCar- category again, this time ahead of Erwin Frieszi (Peugeot 206). In the SuperTouringCar+ division, Tibor Tajmel (BMW E36) claimed victory with Karl Schadenhofer (VW Golf) and Karel Vaclavik in another Golf.

Albatec Racing driver Philippe Maloigne (Peugeot 208) won the second round of the French Rallycross Championship at Chateauroux, ahead of Firmin Caddeddu (Citroen C4). In changeable weather conditions, the British team used its experience to claim victory. Andreas Dubourg (Citroen DS3) scored his maiden Supercar podium finish, with Alexander Theuil (Citroen DS3) fourth and Herve Knapick (Citroen DS3) fifth. Fabien Chanoine (Renault Clio) failed to complete the event but continues to lead the standings, now just two points clear of Dubourg. Samuel Peu (Citroen Saxo) won the Super1600 category ahead of Jimmy Terpereau (Citroen C2), the pair involved in a close fight in the final, Pau taking his second win in a row. Anthony Jan (Renault Clio) scored a maiden podium in the category. In Division Three, Christophe Saunois (Toyota Corolla) won once again with Mathieu Trevian (Volkswagen Scirocco) second and Clement Dupont (Citroen DS3) third. Gilles Lambert (Honda Civic) won in Division four with Jessica Tarriere (Renault Clio) second. Jean Mickael Guerin (Peugeot 206) completed the podium. Alexandre Restellini won the Twingo R1 Cup ahead of Samuel Sevin and Marceau Launay.

Maloigne scored first French RX victory with Albatec Racing. © Racing

The fourth round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship takes place this weekend at Lydden Hill, where British driver Guy Wilks (Ford Fiesta) will make his third ever rallycross start, following outings at Lydden Hill and in Loheac (France) last year with JRM Racing. Max Pucher (Ford Fiesta) has withdrawn from the event, as had Irishman Derek Tohill (Ford Fiesta), the double Euro RX TouringCar champion stating that he will use the time to instead focus on the second round of the European Championship that takes place in Norway in two weeks time. The Lydden Hill weekend will also include a Group B display, run by the Retro Rallycross Championship, where Will Gollop’s 1992 European Rallycross Championship winning MG Metro 6R4 will be in action.

The fourth round of World RX takes place at Lydden Hill this weekend. ©

The entry list for the fifth round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship had been revealed, which includes Albert Llovera (who is paralysed from the waist down) in the RX Lites Cup category. The Spaniard will drive a Polish Lotto team run car, using hand controls.



« »