Dubourg leads Andros Trophy & Baldoni wins first CARX title

by Hal Ridge |

As Europe gears up for Christmas, it’s only fitting that the rallycross based news this week is snow covered, even if that isn’t the case for most of the continent experiencing unusually mild temperatures. The second and third rounds of the Andros Trophy Ice Racing championship took place at Andorre and Alpe D’Huez, where over the four days of competition (each round is run over two separate days), international rallycross regulars Toomas Heikkinen (Mazda 3) and Jean-Baptiste Dubourg (Renault Clio) both claimed a victory.

In his second full Andros Trophy season, Heikkinen won on the first day in Andorre, and in doing so became only the third driver non-French driver to win an Andros Trophy race in 26 years. Dacia Lodgy pilot Franck Lagorce finished second with DTM driver Adrien Tambay (Audi A1) third and J-B Dubourg fourth. On the second day in Andorre, Lagorce won with Dubourg second and Benjamin Riviere (Citroen DS3) completing the podium. Andrea Dubourg (Renault Clio) finished fourth.

Andros Trophy season is in full swing. ©RallycrossWorld.com/Tim Whittington

A week later in Alpe D’Huez, J-B Dubourg won on the first day ahead former Formula 1 driver Olivier Panis (Audi A1) and Heikkinen. Tambay finished fourth. On day two, Andros Trophy legend Jean-Baptiste Dayraut won ahead of J-B Dubourg, Panis and Tambay, while Heikkinen finished sixth. Dubourg now holds a 25-point lead in the championship standings. Younger brother Andrea is sixth and Heikkinen lies eighth.

Dubourg won for a second time this season in Alpe D’Huez. ©RallycrossWorld.com/DA Racing

Miguel Baldoni (Peugeot 208), who made his rallycross debut at the final round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship in San Luis in 2014, won the final round of the Argentine CarX Rallycross Championship to seal the Maxi Rally category title in the inaugural running of the championship. Baldoni initially finished the Superfinal second but was promoted to top spot when former-WRC driver Frederico Villagra (Ford Fiesta), who had crossed the line first, was docked five seconds for jumping the start and was classified second. Augusto D’Agostini (VW Golf) finished third. Alexander Levy (Mitsubishi Evo) won the N4 Superfinal to claim the category title. Julio Gomez (Mitsubishi Evo) finished second and Walter D’Agostini finished third.

Baldoni won first ever CarX Championship in the Maxi category. ©RallycrossWorld.com/CARX

Rallycross World is launching a competition in association with motorsport video and DVD producers Duke. There are a pair of 2015 FIA World Rallycross Championship season review DVDs to give away, so keep an eye on the Rallycross World Twitter ( @RallycrossWorld ) and Facebook ( facebook.com/rallycrossworld ) on Monday 21st December to be in with a chance of winning. Info on the DVD can be found here: http://goo.gl/UVxGft

The BTRDA Clubmans Rallycross Championship will display three cars on the BTRDA stand at the Autosport International Show at the NEC in January. Dmitrij Sribnyji’s Subaru Impreza will be joined by James Orton’s Peugeot 106 and Mark Richardson’s SuperModified specification Ford Sierra Cosworth, which will debut in the clubmans championship in 2016.

The Lydden Hill Charity Challenge rallycross event planned for January 2nd has been cancelled. The Kent circuit had been planned the event to raise money for Cancer Research UK but has been forced to be cancel due to a lack of entries, but the circuit will hold a rallycross test day on January 3rd, where the Swift Rallycross Championship are offering an opportunity to test a rallycross Suzuki Swift. Click here for more info.




« »