Tohill and Wiman claim maiden Supercar wins while Speed is crowned in Las Vegas

by Hal Ridge |

Following the announcement last week that he will compete in the FIA European Rallycross Championship next season, Irishman Derek Tohill (Ford Fiesta) raced at the penultimate round of the Irish Rallycross Championship at Mondello Park. The former TouringCar champion dominated proceedings in his new OlsbergsMSE built mount, winning all four heats, the Supercar final and Superfinal to claim his first outright rallycross victory. Thomas O’Rafferty (Ford Fiesta) finished second while SuperNational final winner Willie Coyne (Vauxhall Corsa) finished third in the Superfinal. In the Supercar final, Tohill led home O’Rafferty and Mitsubishi Evo driver Noel Greene.

O'Rafferty finished second to Tohill in Mondello Superfinal. © Bryne

Patrick Ryan (Vauxhall Nova) finished second in the SuperNational final in a freshly reshelled car, while Lloyd Spendlove (Lotus Exige) finished third. It was an all Peugeot 106 affair at the front of the StockHatch 16v final, Derek Lenehan leading home John and Eugene Ward respectively. In the 8v Stockhatch final, Dan Dowling (Peugeot 205) won ahead of Peter McGarry (Peugeot 205) and Ciaran Murphy (Peugeot 205). Peter Campbell claimed victory in the single make Ford Fiesta category, ahead of Patrick Bateman and Philip Lawless.

Peter McGarry finished second in Stochhatch 8v. © Bryne

The final round of the Global Rallycross Championship took place in Las Vegas on Wednesday, in wet conditions. Finnish driver Joni Wiman (Ford Fiesta) won the Supercar final to secure his maiden victory. Swedish team mate Sebastian Erikkson (Ford Fiesta) ended his impressive season with a second place finish while third position in the final was enough to secure Scott Speed (Volkswagen Beetle) the GRC title, coming out on top of a final event fight with Andretti Autosport team mate, Tanner Foust (Volkswagen Beetle). Speed had taken the lead at the start of the final, but Wiman made his way passed during contact between multiple cars. Foust’s title challenge was ended on the first lap following damage to his Beetle. Steve Arpin (Ford Fiesta) had initially been top qualifier and finished fourth ahead of Brian Deegan (Ford Fiesta) and Nelson Piquet Jr (Ford Fiesta). Ken Block (Ford Fiesta) suffered a difficult event and received damage in a number of different incidents. He was hit hard in the rear on the first lap of the final, putting him out of the event.

Joni Wiman won first Supercar event. © Bull

Alex Keyes won the final round of the GRC Lites championship but it was Swede Oliver Eriksson who claimed the title with a third place finish. Compatriot Andreas Wernersson finished second. Eriksson’s title rival and OlsbergsMSE team mate Austin Cindric retired on the first lap with accident damage.

Alex Keyes won Supercar Lites in Vegas. © Bull

Swedish broadcaster SVT has announced a three-year deal with the FIA World Rallycross Championship to show live coverage of the series in Sweden. “The development of rallycross is something that we have been following closely at SVT during the past couple of years, and we are delighted to be offering the full championship series to our viewers from next year,” said Per Yng, Head of Sports at SVT.




« »