Seven days in rallycross, May 15

by Tim Whittington |

National championships across europe are up and running now. In Britain Julian Godfrey (Ford Fiesta) won his third consecutive round of the MSA British Rallycross Championship in its annual trip north to Knockhill, Scotland which featured a change to the end of the famous loose section. The reining champion didn’t have things his own way though, Supercar returnee Ollie O’Donovan (Ford Focus) claimed pole position with two fastest heat times. However, it was Steve Hill (Mitsubishi Evo) who made the best start in the final, pulling off a brave move around the outside of O’Donovan at the first corner. As O’Donovan slowed with power steering troubles, Godfrey hunted Hill down, making the pass to take the win in the final yards of the race as Hill excited the joker lap. Steve Harris (Ford Focus) finished fourth while Simon Horton (Subaru Impreza) retired after one heat with a broken driveshaft and no spare. Stuart Emery (Peugeot 206) also took his third victory in succession in the Supernational division, despite missing his restarted first heat race with a water leak. Emery extended his lead in the series, heading home Gary Dixon (Vauxhall Astra) and Guy Corner (Peugeot 206). Craig Lomax (Citroen Saxo) won in Hot Hatch, while Jack Thorne (Citroen C2) beat Phil Chicken (Citroen C2) in Super1600. 2012 champion Chris Mullen won the Suzuki Swift final with Drew Bellerby winning the Junior version of the class after a mid-race pass on Jake Taylor. Kris Hudson claimed the spoils in the BMW Mini category ahead of championship leader David Bell, while local(ish) lad Marc Scott won the RX150 buggy final. James Harrold made a return in his Retro Rallycross VW Beetle and may way have won the class but for a water pump failure in heat two, Ray Morgan (Ford Escort) claimed victory in the final.

The new Swedish championship for Supercars began at Ring Knutstorp where it joined the STCC in a combined programme. Sebastien Eriksson emerged as the winner of the event in which Robin Larsson gave his new Audi A1 a magnificent debut, winning both heats in the first day. Larsson and Eriksson won a semi-final each, but when they met in the final it was Eriksson who held the upper hand. Johan Kristoffersson gave VW Dealer Team Sweden’s new Polo a third place finish, team mate Ole Christian Veiby placing fourth in the team’s Scirocco which he will use until the second Polo is completed. Supercar Lites were also on the bill at the event, Kevin Eriksson taking the victory ahead of Kevin Hansen who had been fastest early in the event before losing ground after being pushed off. Linus Leise completed a remarkably young-looking podium.

The Dutch and Belgian championships shared the track at the Eurocircuit in Valkenswaard, the belgian series notching up its third foreign event (after Britain and Germany) but yet to have an event on home ground.  Jochen Coox was first to the chequered flag, but lost out after being excluded when officials decided his car was too noisy (the black flag had been shown during the race, but Coox continued to the end). The win was handed to Ron Snoeck (Seat Leon)  with Jan van Loon (Fiesta) the only other finisher after Ronny Scheveneels was forced to retire his VW Scirocco.  Dave Van Beers (Renault Clio) beat Davy Van Den Branden (Citroen C2) to win in Super1600 where Marcel Snoeijers was best of the home racers in his Renault Megane. The Supernational field produced victories for Kristof Bex (Volvo S40) and, in the up to two-litre class, Joel Strackx (Honda Civic).

Interviewed by British newspaper the Daily Express, Jenson Button’s quotes that he would drive in rallycross when he quits F1 were widely re-reported. “But after this I will probably go and do rallycross. Have you seen it? … I saw a quote from Jacques saying that in every other sport they are trying to make the cars slower but in rallycross they just throw everything at it, they are 600bhp monsters.” he told the Express.

Last week’s French Championship opener is now available to watch here:





« »