Ford in World Rallycross with Bakkerud & Nitiss

by Hal Ridge |

Ford will take double RallycrossRX 2013 event winner, Andreas Bakkerud and reigning FIA European Super1600 champion Reinis Nitiss for its assault on the FIA World Rallycross Championship.

The move makes the two Ford Fiesta ST drivers the youngest team to be announced so far for the 2014 WorldRX series, brought together by team principle, Andreas Eriksson who has a keen eye on the future.

“I am excited to introduce our drivers – the present and future stars of the sport,” said Eriksson. “The drivers on our 2014 roster demonstrate our commitment to building the sport of rallycross. Our competitors are always thinking about winning, but I’m thinking about the future.”

Continuing its support of OMSE, Ford is behind Eriksson’s choice of young drivers. “We are looking forward to another successful year with the team … and excited Andreas’ passion has created the opportunity for young talented drivers to compete in the Ford Fiesta ST,” said Jamie Allison, Director of Ford Racing.

Also joining the OMSE team is Jussi Pinomaki who will take the role of team manager. Bakkerud (2011-2012) and Nitiss (2013) won Super1600 championships with Pinomaki’s own Set Promotion team and are more than used to working with the Finn.

OMSE’s line-up will be strengthened by the introduction of British Touring Car Champion Andrew Jordan and double World Rally Champion Marcus Gronholm who will work with the team as test and development drivers and driver coaches.

Alongside the announcement of OMSE’s WorldRX campaign, former Junior World Rally Champion Patrik Sandell will continue with the squad in the GRC series. He will be joined in a two-car team by 2013 GRC Lites champion Joni Wiman. OMSE will continue to  operate the Supercar Lites category in the series.

As previously announced, Sebastien Eriksson will drive one of a pair of Supercars in Rallycross Supercar Scandinavia, the Swedish Rallycross Championship that will run alongside the Swedish Touring Car Championship in 2014. The second driver is yet to be announced. Kevin Eriksson and Sandra Hultgren will drive OMSE-entered Supercar Lites in the series.





« »