Hvaal and the champions

by Hal Ridge |

Alexander Hvaal stormed to victory at the eighth round of the FIA European European Rallycross Championship, held at Greinbach, Austria and in doing so became the fifth different RallycrossRX winner for the season so far.

Liam Doran and Petter Solberg shared the front row of the grid for the final. Doran made the best start to lead the field awayWhile Solberg however failed to move from his starting position, his stationary car lucky to be missed by those starting behind. Hvaal ran second, ahead of team-mate and championship leader Timur Timerzyanov. Stig-Olov Walfridson ran fourth on lap one, but was passed on the loose section by Davy Jeanney, who then dived for the joker lap.

Timerzyanov was next to take his joker lap on the second tour, the Russian driver returning to the main circuit ahead of Jeanney. Doran held a commanding lead over Hvaal, but on lap four disaster struck for the British driver, smoke and flames billowing from the back of his car, forcing him to stop.

Hvaal seized the lead, and immediately took his joker lap, returning into the lead just ahead of team-mate Timerzyanov and Jeanney, where they remained to the finish. Walfridson finished forth to score his best result of the season to date.

“I am really lost for words,” said Hvaal. “This is my first win in Supercar, it’s amazing. Last year I got lots of second and third places but this year has been terrible for me. Now we have finally proved that we really have the pace.”

Tord Linnerud had initially qualified for the final, but was disqualified from semi-final one for aggressive driving, handing his place in the final to Davy Jeanney.

Read more here. 





« »