Foust retains GRC

by Tim Whittington |

Tanner Foust won the final round of the Global Rallycross Championship in Las Vegas to retain the title he won last year. The event appeared to be going the way of Ken Block but an electrical fault and subsequent fire forced Block to park his Fiesta and caused A final, which he was leading, to be red-flagged.

Ken Block led, before his car caught fire. Foust (right) won. © MWRT/

“I’m absolutely gutted with how today ended for me,” said Block. “I was having one of the best events of the year for myself here in Vegas and qualified first, took first in both my heats and was sitting pole position for the final. I then had a great start and was in the lead for the first half of the final until I started to lose speed due to smoke inside my car from the electrical issue. Then, the problem got worse as there was an actual fire right next to me in the car! So, I had to pull to the side, put out the fire, and retire. It really sucks and it’s not how I wanted to end the season, but that’s racing. I’ll be back to go for it again next year!”The race was restarted virtually from start to finish by Foust who led home team-mate Brian Deegan for a one-two finish. Rhys Millen completed the podium with his Hyundai Veloster, samuel Hubinette placing fourth in a Saab and series returnee Toomas Heikkinen grabbing fifth place.

“I didn’t know exactly where Deegan was, but I knew there was some carnage in the back, for sure,” said Foust, who finished the season with 94 points to Deegan’s 84. “And he got through it, so it’s a good thing that I got a good result, because if I didn’t and he took second place, then I would have lost the championship.”


Watch a video of the final here


Result 1 Tanner Foust 4:40.486; 2 Brian Deegan 4:42.689; 3 Rhys Millen 4:43.844; 4 Samuel Hubinette 4:44.912; 5 Toomas Heikkinen 4:45.966; 6 Dave Mirra 4:49.125; 7 Bucky Lasek DNF; 8 Bryce Menzies DNF; 9 Timur Timerzyanov DNF; 10 Ken Block DNS.



« »