Dutch championship at Valkenswaard

by Henk de Winter |

Set Promotion and Ildar Rakhmatullin debuted new Renault Twingo II.

“We drove with the Twingo only a few times around the workshop back home in Finland. These are the first serious metres with the car,” said former European Rallycross champion and boss of the Set Promotion team, Jussi Pinomäki. For both ‘his’ drivers, Norwegian racer Andreas Bakkerud (Renault Clio) and Russian Ildar Rakhmatullin (Renault Twingo), it was the first time they were on the Dutch Eurocircuit. Bakkerud called the track during the day: ‘A cool, technical and surprising circuit’. “The first corner looks wide but seems to close. I must remember that,” said Bakkerud who won the Super1600 A final. The brand new Renault Twingo had some minor problems during the day; “That’s why we are testing. In the B-final Ildar had much more speed,” said Pinomäki. Rakhmatullin drove the Twingo to second place in the B final.

Second in the Super1600 category was Dutchman Peter van de Wege, who will do only the Dutch Championship this year. Third place was for ERC regular, Dutchman Marcel Snoeijers in his Renault Clio. Norwegian Thommy Tesdal (Opel Corsa), became fifth. “I’m just here for the fun,” said Tesdal who plans only to race in the Norwegian championship and his home ERC round at Lånke this year.

The event was also the first time the new Joker Lap section at the Eurocircuit was used, the extra piece of track gaining wide approval from all present and providing a new dimension to racing in Holland.


  • Supercar – Final Results:
  • 1. Patrick Van Mechelen (B) Subaru Impreza
  • 2. Jos Kuijpers (I) Ford Fiesta VII
  • 3. Timur Timerzyanov (RUS) Citroën C4
  • 4. Jochen Coox (B) Škoda Fabia I
  • 5. Marcel Ottink (NL) Škoda Fabia I
  • 6. Jos Jansen (B) Ford Focus I
  • Super1600 – Final Results:
  • 1. Andreas Bakkerud (N) Renault Clio II
  • 2. Peter van de Wege (NL) Toyota Yaris
  • 3. Marcel Snoeijers (NL) Renault Clio II
  • 4. Pedro Cokelaere (B) Honda Civic EK4
  • 5. Thommy Tesdal (N) Opel Corsa C
  • 6. Dennis Remans (B) Ford Fiesta VI
  • 7. Leo van der Eijk (B) BMW Mini Cooper
  • 8. Davy Van Den Branden (B) Citroën C2
  • TouringCar – Final Results:
  • 1. Koen Pauwels (B) Ford Fiesta VII
  • 2. Mandy Kasse (NL) Opel Astra G
  • 3. Ivo Van den Brandt (B) Mitsubishi Colt CZT
  • 4. Patrick Mertens (B) VW Polo IV
  • 5. Guino Kenis (B) BMW E87
  • SuperNational – Final Results:
  • 1. Steven Maris (B) Volvo 240
  • 2. Kristof Bex (B) Volvo S40 I
  • 3. Luc Maris (B) Volvo S40 II
  • 4. Davy Leysen (B) BMW E36
  • 5. Filip Baelus (B) Volvo C30
  • 6. Steve Volders (B) Ford Escort III
  • 7. Patrick Buschgens (B) BMW E92
  • 8. Frans De Wit (B) BMW E36 Compact


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

« »